Off Broadway Alliance Awards Go to Fun Home, Hand to God and Saint Joan

News   Off Broadway Alliance Awards Go to Fun Home, Hand to God and Saint Joan
The Off Broadway Alliance, honoring commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off-Broadway during the 2013-14 season, announced the winners of the fourth annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards May 27.

Philip Seymour Hoffman
Philip Seymour Hoffman Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Competitive categories include Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Revival, Best Unique Theatrical Experience and Best Family Show.

Best New Musical went to the Jeanine Tesori-Lisa Kron musical Fun Home, while Robert Askins' puppet comedy Hand to God won Best New Play. Best Revival went to Saint Joan; La Soirée was recognized as Best Unique Theatrical Experience; and Best Family Show went to The Wong Kids in the Secret of the Space Chupacabra Go!

The Legend of Off Broadway Awards are presented for sustained achievement in the world of Off-Broadway. The 2014 Legend of Off Broadway recipients are Edmund Gaynes, Andre Gregory, Terrence McNally and Wallace Shawn. Three 2014 Off Broadway Alliance Hall of Fame Awards are presented posthumously to Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ruth Maleczech and Nicholas Martin.

A list of nominees follows. (Winners' names are in bold and preceded by an asterisk.)

Best New Musical
*Fun Home
Heathers: The Musical
Murder for Two
What’s It All About? Bacharach Reimagined
Best New Play
Bad Jews
Breakfast With Mugabe
*Hand to God
The Heir Apparent
Regular Singing

Best Revival
I Remember Mama
Measure for Measure
The Model Apartment
The Mystery of Irma Vep
*Saint Joan

Best Unique Theatrical Experience
Eager to Lose
*La Soirée
Queen of the Night
Shut Up, Sit Down & Eat

Best Family Show
Dear Albert Einstein (Making Books Sing)
The Civil War (Theatreworks USA)
Mr. Chickee's Funny Money (Atlantic Theater Company)
The Greatest Pirate Story Never Told! (Off Sides Entertainment)
*The Wong Kids in the Secret of the Space Chupacabra Go! (La MaMa in association
with Ma-Yi Theater Company)

Legend of Off Broadway Honorees
Edmund Gaynes
Andre Gregory
Terrence McNally
Wallace Shawn

Hall of Fame Awards
Philip Seymour Hoffman
Ruth Maleczech
Nicholas Martin

The Off Broadway Alliance is an organization of Off Broadway producers, theatres, general managers, press agents and marketing professionals.

Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!