Paavo J‹rvi and Cincinnati Symphony Announce 2008 European Tour

Classic Arts News   Paavo J‹rvi and Cincinnati Symphony Announce 2008 European Tour
Paavo J‹rvi and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra will tour Europe April 4-18, 2008; they will perform 12 concerts in five countries, including appearances at the Salle Pleyel in Paris and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

The tour also includes concerts in Munich, Stuttgart, Vienna, Valencia and Madrid; several of these are reengagements from the orchestra's previous European tour in 2004.

Repertoire will include Shostakovich's Symphony No. 10 and Schubert's Symphony No. 9 ("The Great"). Opening selections include Arvo P‹rt's Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten and Mozart's Overture to The Marriage of Figaro.

Soloists for the tour are Dutch violinist Janine Jansen, who will perform the violin concertos of Tchaikovsky and Britten, and the Russian pianist Nikolai Lugansky, who will play Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3.

This is the third international tour for J‹rvi and the CSO since he became music director in 2001.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!