Tony Nominee Alfred Molina to Host TFANA Gala; Taymor and Goldenthal Nab Scripps Award

News   Tony Nominee Alfred Molina to Host TFANA Gala; Taymor and Goldenthal Nab Scripps Award
Tony Award nominee Alfred Molina will host as creative collaborators and couple Julie Taymor and Elliot Goldenthal receive the Samuel H. Scripps Award at Theatre for a New Audience's 30th anniversary gala May 10.

Julie Taymor and Elliot Goldenthal
Julie Taymor and Elliot Goldenthal Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Off-Broadway troupe will also be celebrating Shakespeare's 446th birthday at the evening at the American Museum of Natural History at 6:30 PM.

Tony Award winner Julie Taymor and Academy winner Elliot Goldenthal will be honored with the Samuel H. Scripps Award, which "recognizes extraordinary commitment to promoting the power of language in classic and contemporary theatre." Established in 2005, the award — which is a Milton Glaser sculpture of Shakespeare — has previously been presented to Mark Rylance, Cicely Berry, Tony Kushner, Wallace Shawn and others.

Director Taymor earned her Tony Award for the still-running Broadway production of The Lion King. She is attached to the forthcoming musical Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark.

Composer Goldenthal earned his Oscar for the score to the Taymor film "Frida." His work also includes music for the films "Alien 3," "Batman Forever," "Heat" and the opera Grendel — which he also created with Taymor.

Molina — who is currently nominated for his Broadway turn in John Logan’s Red — will appear with Helen Mirren, Djimon Hounsou and Ben Whishaw in Taymor's next Shakespeare-inspired film, "The Tempest," which features a score by Goldenthal. The evening will feature bass-baritone Eric Owens, who created the title role in the world premiere of Goldenthal's acclaimed Grendel, who will sing from that opera. Composer John Corigliano and Shakespeare scholar Jonathan Andrew Bate will present the Scripps award to Taymor and Goldenthal. Also scheduled to attend are Sigourney Weaver, Didi Conn, Daniel Ezralow, Teese Gohl, Ned Eisenberg and Richard Martinez.

The Gala evening will take place at The Powerhouse in the American Museum of Natural History, Central Park West at 79th Street. For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!