2006-2007 Tony Nominating Committee to Include Gleason, Newman and More

News   2006-2007 Tony Nominating Committee to Include Gleason, Newman and More
The Tony Awards Nominating Committee for the 2006-2007 Broadway season has been announced. New committee members include Tony Award-winning actresses Joanna Gleason and Phyllis Newman.
Joanna Gleason
Joanna Gleason Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Nominating Committee, according to a previous release, "attends all productions during the Broadway season, and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season."

The committee for the 2006-2007 season, according to a Tony spokesperson, follows:
Victoria Bailey - Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund
*Joe Benincasa - President, The Actors' Fund of America
Susan Birkenhead - Lyricist
Edward Burbridge - Scenic Designer
*Robert Callely - Theatre Executive
Ben Cameron - Program Director for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
Betty Corwin - Retired Director of the Lincoln Center Library for the Performing Arts
*John Dias - Producer, Dramaturg, Educator
Mercedes Ellington - Choreographer
*Sue Frost - Producer/Company Manager
*Joanna Gleason - Actor
Andrew Jackness - Scenic Designer
*David Henry Hwang - Playwright
*Betty Jacobs - Script Consultant/Theatre Historian
Robert Kamlot - Retired General Manager
Todd London - Artistic Director, New Dramatists
Brian Stokes Mitchell - Actor
Peter Neufeld - Former General Manager
*Phyllis Newman - Actor/Writer/Lyricist
Lynn Nottage - Playwright
Gilbert Parker - Retired Senior Vice President of the William Morris Agency
Jonathan Reynolds - Playwright/Screenwriter
*Steve Suskin - Theatre Author
Jac Venza - Retired Executive, WNET
*Tom Viola - President, Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS
Franklin Weissberg - Retired Judge of the New York State Court of Claims
(*New Committee Members Beginning a Three-Year Term)

As previously announced, the 61st Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards — saluting the best of the Broadway theatre season — will be presented June 10, 2007.

Nominations for the 2007 Tony Awards will be announced May 15, 2007. The cut-off date for eligibility for the 2006-2007 theatre season is May 9.

The Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. Visit www.tonyawards.com for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: