2009-2010 Tony Awards Management and Administration Committees Announced

News   2009-2010 Tony Awards Management and Administration Committees Announced
The Tony Awards Management Committee and the Tony Awards Administration Committee for the 2009-2010 Broadway theatre season have been announced.

The Management Committee, which features representatives of the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, "oversees the Tony Awards, with emphasis on the television broadcast," according to the official Tony Awards website. The 2009-2010 committee comprises Robert Boyett, Ted Chapin, Sondra Gilman, Nina Lannan, Doug Leeds, Paul Libin, Michael Price, Jane Safer, Charlotte St. Martin, Nick Scandalios, Howard Sherman, Tom Viertel, Bob Wankel and Barry Weissler. The Tony Awards Administration Committee includes 24 members: ten designated by the Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers. This committee "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the [previously announced] Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow [four] non-competitive Tony Awards: Special Tony Awards and the Regional Theatre Tony Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre and the Isabelle Stevenson Award."

The 2009-2010 Administration Committee features Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, John Connolly, Bill Craver, Dasha Epstein, Mallory Factor, Cecilia Friederichs, Gary Garrison, Philip Getter, Sondra Gilman, Doug Leeds, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Laura Penn, Michael Price, Charlotte St. Martin, Howard Sherman, Philip Smith and David Stone. Alternates include Billie Allen, Melvin Bernhardt, Michael David, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, John Gore, Barry Grove, Fredda Harris, Mike Isaacson, Nina Lannan, Michael McBride, Judith O. Rubin, Thomas Schumacher and Ralph Sevush.

For more information visit www.tonyawards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: