2014 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees Announced | Playbill

News 2014 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees Announced
The Theater Hall of Fame has announced the 2014 inductees for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater.

Susan Stroman
Susan Stroman Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Inductees include director/choreographer Susan Stroman, actor F. Murray Abraham, actor Alvin Epstein, actor Blythe Danner, former theatre critic Frank Rich, Chairman of the Shubert Organization Philip J. Smith, playwright Alfred Uhry and director Marshall Mason.

The 44th Annual Theater Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Jan. 26, 2015, at the Gershwin Theatre.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces.

Founded in 1971 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, Gerard Oestreicher and L. Arnold Weissberger, the Theater Hall of Fame honors Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater.

To be eligible for inclusion on the annual voting ballot, a nominee must have at least 25 years in the American theatre with five major credits on Broadway or be a leading pioneer of Off-Broadway or regional theatre.

Each summer, over 250 members of the Theater Hall of Fame and American theatre critics cast their vote.

Last year's inductees included actors Cherry Jones and Ellen Burstyn; directors Jerry Zaks, George C. Wolfe and Lynne Meadow; producer Cameron Mackintosh; designer David Hays; and, posthumously, playwright Lorraine Hansberry.

Visit theaterhalloffame.org.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!