64th Primetime Emmys Held Sept. 23; Alec Baldwin, Jim Parsons, Edie Falco and More Among 2012 Nominees | Playbill

Related Articles
News 64th Primetime Emmys Held Sept. 23; Alec Baldwin, Jim Parsons, Edie Falco and More Among 2012 Nominees The 64th Primetime Emmy Awards, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, air live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles Sept. 23. ABC will broadcast the ceremony at 7 PM (ET).

Jimmy Kimmel
Jimmy Kimmel Photo by Bob D'Amico

Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock") and Jim Parsons ("The Big Bang Theory") were nominated in the category of Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. London stage star Benedict Cumberbatch (Frankenstein) was nommed for Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie for the "Scandal in Belgravia" episode of "Sherlock," the British series that reinvents detective Sherlock Holmes as a 21st-century crime-fighter.

Other 2012 Emmy acting nominees with ties to the stage include Jesse Tyler Ferguson, the late Kathryn Joosten, Edie Falco, Ty Burrell, Maggie Smith, Julianna Margulies, Kathy Bates, Michael C. Hall, Christine Baranski, Merritt Wever, Woody Harrelson, Mare Winningham, Denis O'Hare, David Strathairn, Ed Harris and more.

Presenters for the evening include Tony nominee Bates, Jimmy Fallon, Steve Buscemi, Stephen Colbert, Seth MacFarlane, Aziz Ansari, Kat Dennings, Jane Levy, Hayden Panettiere, Matthew Perry, James Van Der Beek, Damon Wayans, Jr., Andre Braugher, Connie Britton, Louis C.K., Jon Cryer, Claire Danes, Jeremy Davies, Zooey Deschanel, Giancarlo Esposito, Tina Fey, Michael J. Fox, Ricky Gervais, Ginnifer Goodwin, Jon Hamm, Ron Howard, Mindy Kaling, Lucy Liu, Margulies, Melissa McCarthy, Julianne Moore, Parsons, Tony nominee Martha Plimpton, Amy Poehler, Kiefer Sutherland, Emily Van Camp and Kerry Washington.

As previously reported, winners of the 2012 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Awards were announced Sept. 15. They include theatre choreographer Joshua Bergasse ("Smash"), music director Rob Berman ("The Kennedy Center Honors"), songwriters Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum (the 2011 Tony Awards) and more.

For more information and a complete list of nominees and Creative Arts winners, visit Emmys.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!