Additional Casting Announced for Broadway Revival of On the Town

News   Additional Casting Announced for Broadway Revival of On the Town
Additional casting has been announced for the Broadway revival of On the Town, the iconic musical comedy created by Leonard Bernstein, Betty Comden, Adolph Green and Jerome Robbins, which will begin previews Sept. 20 at the Lyric Theatre (formerly the Foxwoods) prior to an official opening Oct. 16.

Alysha Umphress
Alysha Umphress

Megan Fairchild, Alysha Umphress and Elizabeth Stanley are the latest additions to the cast of the classic musical. Umphress will play Hildy, and Stanley will play Claire, both reprising their performances from last summer’s acclaimed Barrington Stage production. Fairchild will play the role of Ivy Smith.

Fairchild, Umphress and Stanley will steal the hearts of the previously announced Tony Yazbeck, Jay Armstrong Johnson and Clyde Alves, who will play the roles of, respectively, Gabey, Chip and Ozzie, the sailors on 24-hour shore leave who take on the Big Apple.

The production, which will mark the 70th anniversary of the classic musical, will be directed by Tony winner John Rando, who helmed the recent, critically acclaimed City Center Encores! and Barrington Stage productions of On the Town. It will feature choreography by Joshua Bergasse, who choreographed the Barrington Stage production and will be making his Broadway debut as a choreographer with this show.

On the Town was created by Leonard Bernstein, Betty Comden, Adolph Green and Jerome Robbins.

"The Bronx is up, the Battery's down, and three sailors are hoping to get just a little bit lucky on their one day of leave in the Big Apple," according to press notes. "From the Brooklyn Navy Yard and Coney Island to Times Square and Carnegie Hall, On the Town zigzags through New York City as the sailors and the three high-spirited young women they meet chase love, dreams, and each other during an unforgettable day in the city that never sleeps." The score features the standards “New York, New York,” “I Can Cook Too,” “Lonely Town” and “Some Other Time” and will be played with their original orchestrations, performed by what will be the largest orchestra on Broadway, with 28 musicians led by musical director James Moore.

The upcoming production will also feature scenic design by Tony winner Beowulf Boritt, lighting design by Drama Desk nominee Jason Lyons, costume design by Tony Award winner Jess Goldstein and sound design by Tony nominee Kai Harada.

On the Town is produced by Howard and Janet Kagan.

Tickets are available at


Alysha Umphress, Tony Yazbeck, Clyde Alves, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Elizabeth Stanley and Jackie Hoffman were featured in a December 2013 workshop of the Broadway-aimed revival. Read about it here.

Today’s Most Popular News: