After Ashley Wins "Bug ‘n Bub" Playwright Award; Reading Held in NYC, Dec. 8

News   After Ashley Wins "Bug ‘n Bub" Playwright Award; Reading Held in NYC, Dec. 8
Primary Stages has announced the winner of this year's "Bug ‘n Bub" Playwright Award–winning play, After Ashley by Gina Gionfriddo. The work will be read at Primary Stages Phil Bosakowski Theatre, Dec. 8.

The new work will be produced at the 2004 Humana Festival in Louisville, Kentucky. Primary Stages presents a reading of After Ashley at the Bosakowski, Dec. 8 at 7 PM.

The annual award established in 1995 by Gay Smith in memory of her husband and playwright Phil Bosakowski is awarded to a playwright whose work is infused "with a daring comic voice and a sense of anarchy and play". Three scripts are nominated from New Dramatists, The O’Neill Playwrights Conference and Wesleyan University for consideration. This year’s other nominations were Liz Duffy Adams' Dog Act and Adam Rapp's Bingo With the Indians.

Previous recipients of the award have included Glen Berger, Hilary Bell, Dimitry Lipkin, Kelly Stewart, David Lindsay-Abaire, Gordon Dalhquist, Kira Obolensky and Mark Eisman.

Gionfriddo was the recipient of the 2001-2002 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, the 2002 Helen Merrill Award for Emerging Playwrights, a Lucille Lortel Fellowship and a Rhode Island State Council on the Arts Fellowship. Her other plays include Safe, U.S. Drag, Guinevere and Briar Rose.

Playwright Bosakowski penned the works Crossin’ The Line, Chopin in Space and Nixon Apologize to the Nation among others. He taught playwriting at the National Theatre Institute at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center and was a visiting playwright there as well as at Princeton University, Dartmouth College and Wesleyan. The New Dramatists board member also wrote for film and television.

Today’s Most Popular News: