Altar Boyz Cast to Say Goodbye and Amen to Youngest in the Boy Band July 10

News   Altar Boyz Cast to Say Goodbye and Amen to Youngest in the Boy Band July 10
Mark, we hardly knew ye.

Tyler Maynard is leaving the brotherhood of Altar Boyz, the Off-Broadway musical about a fictive Christian pop group spreading good news — and original pop songs — in its concept concert.

Maynard, a Mamma Mia! veteran, plays Mark, the youngest and most vulnerable of the fivesome that includes Matthew, Luke, Juan and Abraham. He will exit the nightly workout — choreographer Christopher Gattelli's synchronized dance moves make this group one of the hardest working ensembles in town — July 10. Joining the company July 11 will be Danny Calvert.

Maynard's next gig is the new musical, Miracle Brothers, for Vineyard Theatre Off-Broadway.

The (recorded) voice of God in the new tongue-in-cheek pop show belongs to none other than Top 40 radio host Shadoe Stevens.

Remaining with Altar Boyz are original cast members Scott Porter (Toxic Audio) as Matthew; Ryan Duncan (Man of La Mancha, Fiddler on the Roof) as Juan; David Josefsberg (Les Miserables, Grease) as Abraham; and Andy Karl (Saturday Night, Saturday Night Fever) as Luke. All (including Maynard) but Porter appeared in the popular fall 2004 test of the show as part of the New York Musical Theatre Festival (NYMF).

The open-ended commercial Off-Broadway run began Feb. 15 and opened March 1. A cast album on the Sh-K-Boom label preserves the work of the boys, who sing a score by Gary Adler (musical director of Avenue Q) and Michael Patrick Walker.

The book is by Kevin Del Aguila (Six Story Building at the 2002 NYC Fringe), based on a concept by Marc Kessler (The Manhattan Rhythm Kings) and Ken Davenport (Awesome 80s Prom).

Altar Boyz is produced by Ken Davenport and Robyn Goodman, in association with Walter Grossman, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, Matt Murphy, and Mark Shacket.

Stafford Arima (Paper Mill Playhouse's and London's Ragtime) directs.

Lynne Shankel (The Thing About Men) is musical director and co-orchestrator with Doug Katsaros. Designers are Anna Louizos (scenic), Gail Brassard (costume), Natasha Katz (lighting) and Peter Hylenski (sound).

For more information, contact at (212) 239-6200 or visit


The debut disc of the fictional boy band includes the tracks "We Are the Altar Boyz," "Rhythm in Me," "Church Rulez," "The Calling," "Miracle Song," "Everybody Fits," "Something About You," "Body, Mind and Soul," "La Vida Enternal," "Epiphany," "Number 918" and "I Believe."

The show won the Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Musical Off-Broadway.

A national tour of the musical will launch this fall in Detroit, where an engagement will play the City Theatre.

Today’s Most Popular News: