Ashford, Bogart and Johnson to Star in Ordway's Sound of Music

News   Ashford, Bogart and Johnson to Star in Ordway's Sound of Music
Casting has been announced for the upcoming production of The Sound of Music, which will be presented at the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts in Saint Paul, MN, Dec. 11-30.

Directed by Wendy Knox with choreography by Jayme McDaniel, the cast will feature Mathew Ashford as Captain von Trapp, Jessica Bogart as Maria, Christine Toy Johnson as Elsa, Susan Pierson as Mother Abbess, Melissa Hart as Sister Margaretta, Carol Swarbrick as Sister Berthe, Phil Kilbourne as Max, Monte Wheeler as Herr Zeller, Joel Liestman as Admiral von Schreiber, Katie Allen as Liesl and Aaron Young as Rolf.

Raymond Berg will be the musical director of the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical.

The Sound of Music originally opened at Broadway's Lunt-Fontanne Theatre in November 1959. Mary Martin headed a cast that also included Theodore Bikel and Patricia Neway. Julie Andrews starred in the award-winning film, and the most recent Broadway revival featured Rebecca Luker as the beloved Maria von Trapp. The classic Rodgers and Hammerstein score boasts such tunes as "Do Re Mi," "My Favorite Things," "The Sound of Music" and "Climb Ev'ry Mountain."

Tickets, priced $43-$70, are available by calling (651) 224-4222 or by visiting

The Ordway Center for the Performing Arts is located at 345 Washington Street in St. Paul, MN.

Today’s Most Popular News: