Audio Exclusive! Jonathan Groff Sings Inspirational New Song About Starting Anew

News   Audio Exclusive! Jonathan Groff Sings Inspirational New Song About Starting Anew
Songwriters Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott will release "A View of the River," a new EP of their songs, Sept. 15. They share an exclusive track with, an inspirational song titled "Prayer," performed by Hamilton star Jonathan Groff.

Jonathan Groff
Jonathan Groff

Following the release of "A View of the River," the duo will play 54 Below Sept. 21 at 9:30 PM.

The EP features seven pop and theatre songs by Van Dyke and Talbott performed by Tony Award winner Billy Porter (Kinky Boots), Tony Award nominees Kate Baldwin (Finian's Rainbow, Big Fish) and Groff (Hamilton, Spring Awakening), Abby Mueller (Kinky Boots, Beautiful national tour), Matt Doyle (The Book of Mormon), Tamika Sonja Lawrence (Rent) and Preston Sadleir (Big Love).

The EP is described as "a collection of pop-infused theatre standalone songs" that is "a bracing and infectious introduction to a bold new musical theatre writing team."

Listen to "Prayer," performed by Groff, below:

Music is by Van Dyke, with lyrics by Talbott and Van Dyke. The album is produced by Van Dyke, Talbott, Brian Usifer and Derik Lee and co-produced by Candy Gold. Orchestrations are by Usifer, and it was recorded and mixed by Lee. It will be available on iTunes and wherever digital music is sold.

The Sept. 21 54 Below concert, The Songs of Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott: A View of the River, will feature the songs from the EP and a suite of songs from Van Dyke and Talbott's new musical Imagine Harry, which was recently named as one of the featured musicals in this fall's National Alliance of Musical Theatre's 2015 Festival of New Musicals.

Performers at 54 Below include Tony nominee Baldwin, Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford, Drama Desk nominee Julia Murney, Jessica Vosk, Doyle, Taylor Trensch, Lawrence, Josh Lamon, Sadleir, Jake Odmark and Marcus Neville, among others.

For more information and tickets, visit

Van Dyke is a New York-based musical theatre writer and music director whose compositions include Winnie The Pooh Kids (Disney), The Lion King Jr. & Kids (Disney), The Devil's Bitch (Playbill) and The Girls I've Like Liked (Ars Nova). Upcoming musicals include Magnificent Climb (with Rick Elice), Imagine Harry and Wintersong (with Talbott) and Writing Kevin Taylor (with Josh Halloway). Read more about his work in's Contemporary Musical Theatre Songwriters You Should Know.

Talbott's play The Submission was the inaugural recipient of the Laurents/Hatcher Award in 2011 and was produced Off-Broadway by MCC Theater; it received the Outer Critics Circle John Gassner Award for Best New American Play in 2012 and has since been performed all over the country.

Today’s Most Popular News: