Baldwin, Cody, McCarthy and Page Among Kline Award Nominees

News   Baldwin, Cody, McCarthy and Page Among Kline Award Nominees
Nominations for the 2008 Kevin Kline Awards – honoring excellence in professional theatre in the St. Louis area – have been announced.

Kate Baldwin
Kate Baldwin Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Numerous Broadway folk — including Kate Baldwin, Catherine Brunell, Jennifer Cody, David Elder, Julie Foldesi, Michael Halling, Leah Hocking, Jeff McCarthy, Ken Page, Julie Tolivar and Keith Tyrone — are among the nominated actors who have appeared in productions at Stages St. Louis or the Muny.

The resident company to earn the most nods was the Repertory Theatre of St. Louis, which earned 24 out of the 118 nominations announced. Stages St. Louis and the Muny came in with 22 and 14 nominations, respectively.

Some 45 productions earned Kline Award nominations, with Stages St. Louis' production of the musical The Full Monty earning ten, followed by seven nominations for both Les Miserables at the Muny and Altar Boyz, which was produced by the Repertory Theatre of St. Louis.

The St. Louis production of Altar Boyz earned Kline Award nominations for both Stafford Arima and Christopher Gattelli, who repeated their duties from the Off-Broadway hit. Gemze de Lappe (2007 Tony Award Honor for Excellence in Theater) was nominated for re-creating Agnes De Mille's choreography for Oklahoma at the Muny.

The Stages St. Louis productions of Crazy for You picked up nominations for Tolivar and Elder, The Full Monty for Halling and Tyrone, and A Little Night Music for Foldesi. Muny nominees include McCarthy and Kaarina for Les Misérables, Brunell and Hocking for Oklahoma!, Baldwin for The Pajama Game and Cody for her roles in both Pajama Game and Hello, Dolly!

The Kevin Kline Awards will be presented at a ceremony on March 31 at the Loretto-Hilton Center. For a complete list of nominees and tickets to the awards ceremony, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: