Boyd Gaines, Douglas J. Cohen, Robert Viagas Among Additions to Tony Nominating Committee

News   Boyd Gaines, Douglas J. Cohen, Robert Viagas Among Additions to Tony Nominating Committee
The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced June 17 the Nominating Committee for the 2011-2012 Broadway season.

Boyd Gaines
Boyd Gaines Photo by Krissie Fullerton

The Nominating Committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season. 

The committee of Tony Nominators, which has been expanded to 35 members for the 2011-2012 season, includes the following:

John Arnone – Scenic Designer*
Victoria Bailey – Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund
David Caddick – Music Supervisor
Kathleen Chalfant – Actor
Hope Clarke – Stage Director/Choreographer/Actor
Douglas J. Cohen – Composer/Lyricist/Playwright* André de Shields - Actor
Edgar Dobie –Managing Director, Arena Stage Washington, DC 
Gordon Edelstein – Artistic Director of Long Wharf Theatre
Beverly Emmons – Lighting Designer
Bert Fink – Senior Vice President/Communications, Rodgers & Hammerstein*
Boyd Gaines – Actor*
Michael Greif – Director
Kathryn Grody – Actor/Writer*
Paulette Haupt – Director of the Music Theatre Conference at The O’Neill Center
Susan Hilferty – Costume Designer*
Mark Hollmann – Composer/Lyricist
Abe Jacob – Sound Designer*
Robert Kamlot – Retired General Manager
Anne Kauffman – Director*
Moises Kaufman – Director/Playwright/Artistic Director, Tectonic Theater
Pia Lindström – Former Reporter/Theatre Critic
Todd London – Artistic Director, New Dramatists
Pam MacKinnon – Director*
Donna McKechnie – Actor/Choreographer
Susan Rice – Playwright/Screenwriter*
Mervyn Rothstein – Retired Writer & Editor, The New York Times*
Susan H. Schulman – Director
Tobie S. Stein – Director, Graduate Program in Performing Arts and Management, Brooklyn College*
Rosemarie Tichler – Theatre Educator/Author
Robert Viagas – PlaybillEDU Executive Editor/Founding Editor of*
Kevin Wade – Playwright/Screenwriter
Tony Walton – Scenic/Costume Designer, Director*
Carol Waaser – Retired AEA Official/Company & Stage Manager*
Chay Yew – Playwright/Director*
*Denotes new Nominating Committee members

The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Today’s Most Popular News: