Broadway Actors Take Part in Jan. 30 Ziegfeld Follies of the Air | Playbill

News Broadway Actors Take Part in Jan. 30 Ziegfeld Follies of the Air The New 1934 Live from Broadway Broadcast Revue is held at Birdland.
A cast of Broadway actors join Tony Award winner Liliane Montevecchi for The Ziegfeld Society’s gala benefit performance, Ziegfeld Follies of The Air: The New 1934 Live from Broadway Broadcast Revue. Devised and directed by Walter Willison with musical direction and musical arrangements by Mark York, the event takes place at 7 PM January 30 at Birdland, 315 West 44th Street in New York.

The evening features Loni Ackerman (No, No, Nanette; Evita) as Fanny Brice, Drama Desk nominee Shelly Burch (Nine, Show Boat) as Helen Morgan, Erin Cronican (The Seeing Place Theater) as Marilyn Miller, Carole Demas (Grease) as Billie Burke, David Giardina as Will Rogers, Lee Horwin (Jacques Brel is Alive & Well) as Libby Holman, Montevecchi (Nine, Grand Hotel) as Mistinguett, Candice Oden (The Seeing Place Theater) as Ruth Etting, Tony Award nominee Willison (Two By Two, Pippin, Grand Hotel) as Eddie Dowling, Sheila Wormer as Matilda “Goldie” Clough, York (Just Jim Dale) as Paul Whiteman, and ballroom dancers Heather Gehring and Lou Brockman (Boardwalk Empire) as Renee and Tony DeMarco. Also featured are Jamie Buxton, Chelsie Nectow, Taylor James Hopkins, Matthew McFarland, and Ian Whitt.

“Return to those glorious radio days of yesteryear, and join the studio audience at Broadway at Birdland, ’Heaven’s Hottest Hot Spot,’ as Broadway’s legendary producer Florenz Ziegfeld gathers some of the greatest stars of the 20st Century for one last hurrah, a holiday broadcast like no other, direct from the other side,” according to press notes. “Broadway stars from the present portray a bevy of Broadway stars from the past in this original immersive musical revue, inspired by the radio show The Ziegfeld Follies of the Air which was broadcast from 1932 to 1936.”

The original musical revue features songs by Irving Berlin, Howard Dietz and Arthur Schwartz, Vernon Duke, George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin, Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart, P.G. Wodehouse, B.G. DeSylva, Robert Wright and George Forrest, and more.

Proceeds benefit The Ziegfeld Society of New York City, a not-for-profit organization that aspires to “enlighten, entertain and educate current and future generations of theatergoers and young artists about the legendary performers, songwriters and creators of our vast musical theater heritage.”

Tickets are $100 for super premium seating, $45 for premium seating, and $35 for general seating, plus a $10 food and beverage minimum. All contributions are tax-deductible. Door opens at 5:30 PM. For reservations call (212) 581-3080 or visit

(Updated January 30, 2017)
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!