Broadway Favorites Will Pay Tribute to Oscar Hammerstein Award Winner Angela Lansbury | Playbill

News Broadway Favorites Will Pay Tribute to Oscar Hammerstein Award Winner Angela Lansbury Angela Lansbury will be honored with the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement by The York Theatre Company Nov. 16 at Guastavino's. The award, named for the prolific master lyricist, recognizes lifetime achievement in musical theatre.

The evening will include a reception, dinner and a concert and award ceremony.

The evening’s entertainment will be directed by Kurt Stamm, with music direction by Andrew Gerle. Special guests set to appear are Len Cariou, James Earl Jones, Alan Menken, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Brad Oscar, Tom Rhoads, Karen Ziemba and more.

In a statement, York producing artistic director James Morgan, said, “We are delighted to be able to honor Ms. Lansbury. We have tried for a number of years to make this event happen, and this time, the stars—and this star—aligned, and we are over the moon. She is the personification of lifetime achievement in musical theatre, and the ceremony will be a celebration of her 90th birthday.”

Past recipients of the award include Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Stephen Sondheim, Alan Menken, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan, Paul Gemignani and Barbara Cook.

For more information click here.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!