Casting Announced for New York Premiere of Ferenc Molnar's The President

News   Casting Announced for New York Premiere of Ferenc Molnar's The President
The Storm Theatre Company will present the New York premiere of Ferenc Molnar's The President, described as a "madcap one-hour comedy," beginning April 27, prior to an official opening May 5.

Directed by Storm artistic director Peter Dobbins, the cast will feature Spencer Aste, David Bodenschatz, Brian J. Carter, Laura Michelle Cleary, Brian J. Coffey, Gregory Couba, Joe Danbusky, Meaghan Bloom Fluitt, Cheri Paige Fogleman, Robert Ierardi, Benjamin Jones, Hugh Brandon Kelly, Jessica Levesque, Sawyer Mastrandrea, Ted McGuiness, Yukiko Miyawaki, Becca Pesce, Edward Prostak, Josh Vasquez and Matthew Waterson.

The President, which has been adapted by Morwyn Brebner, debuted at the Shaw Festival in Canada. The limited New York engagement will continue through May 26.

Here's how producers bill the show: "The minutes in Molnar's manic world start ticking down for powerful bank president Norrison, when the young heiress under his care announces her secret marriage to a Communist taxi driver. Norrison tries in vain to convince her to divorce him, but she is prepared to make her big announcement to her parents, who are arriving imminently. So begins an hour of hilarity and tongue-twisting dialogue where Norrison sets about to transform this wholly unsuitable suitor into a perfectly well-bred, well-mannered, well-spoken son-in-law before time runs out."

Other members of the creative team include assistant director Stephen Logan Day, production stage manager Charles Casano, costume designer Meagan Miller-McKeever, lighting designer Michael Abrams, sound designer Amy Altadonna and set designer Ken Larson.

The Storm Theatre is located in the Theatre of the Church of Notre Dame at 114th Street and Morningside Park. For more information and tickets, call (212) 868-4444 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: