Champlin, Opel, Stuhlbarg, Sun and Miranda Among 2007 Obie Award Winners

News   Champlin, Opel, Stuhlbarg, Sun and Miranda Among 2007 Obie Award Winners
The 52nd Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, a major honor in the Off-Broadway community, were presented May 21 at New York University's Jack H. Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.
Nilaja Sun in No Child
Nilaja Sun in No Child Photo by Carol Rosegg

Hosted by Cynthia Nixon and T.R. Knight, presenters included Angela Lansbury, Camryn Manheim, Michael Cerveris, Terrence McNally, Stephanie March, Liev Schreiber, William Ivey Long and Anika Noni Rose.

The Village Voice gives out the annual awards, which honor Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway shows. Award recipients are chosen by a panel without the complication of selecting or announcing nominees.

The winners of the 2006-2007 Obie Awards follow:


  • Betsy Aidem, Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Donna Lynne Champlin for her performance in The Dark at the Top of the Stairs
  • Andre De Shields, Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Ain Gordon for his performance in Stories Left to Tell
  • David Greenspan for his performance in Faust and Some Men
  • Nina Hellman for her performance in Trouble in Paradise
  • Ron Cephas Jones, Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Nancy Opel for her performance in My Deah
  • Roslyn Ruff for her performance in Seven Guitars
  • James Saito for his performance in Durango
  • Michael Stuhlbarg for his performance in The Voysey Inheritance
  • Nilaja Sun for her performance in No Child
  • Harris Yulin for his performance in Frank's Home
  • Ensemble for their performance in Tale of 2Cities (Winsome Brown, Michael Ray Escamilla, Tracey A. Leigh, Leo Marks Diane Rodriguez, Ed Vassallo, Heather Woodbury)



  • Adam Bock for The Thugs DIRECTION

  • Lou Bellamy for Two Trains Running
  • Anne Kauffman for The Thugs
  • Matthew Maguire for Abandon
  • Eirik Stubo for The Wild Duck
  • Chay Yew for Durango MUSIC AND CHOREOGRAPHY

  • Michael Friedman, Sustained Excellence in Music
  • Bill T. Jones for his choreography of Spring Awakening
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda for his music and lyrics for In The Heights DESIGN

  • Beowulf Boritt, Sustained Excellence in Set Design
  • Robert Kaplowitz, Sustained Excellence in Sound Design
  • Rae Smith for the set and costume design of Oliver Twist LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

  • Alvin Epstein EMERGING PLAYWRIGHT AWARD ($1,000 prize)

  • Young Jean Lee THE ROSS WETZSTEON AWARD ($2,000 given annually to a theatre that nurtures innovative new plays)

  • Rattlestick Playwrights Theatre SPECIAL CITATIONS

  • Daniel Beaty, writing and performance Emergence-SEE
  • Edward Hall & Propeller, Taming of the Shrew
  • Tim Crouch, An Oak Tree
  • The Living Theatre, Ensemble and director Judith Malina, The Brig (Ensemble: Gene Ardor, Johnson Anthony, Kesh Baggan, Steven Scot Bono, Gary Brackett, Brent Bradley, Brad Burgess, John Kohan, Albert Lamont, Peter Lester, Jeff Nash, Josh Roberts, Bradford Rosenbloom, Jade Rothman, Isaac Scranton, Morteza Tavakoli, Evan True, Antwan Ward, Louis Williams; Steve Ben Israel, ensemble director) GRANTS (Totaling $10,000)

  • Transport Group
  • Peculiar Works Project
  • Synapse Productions
  • The Play Company *

    Village Voice critic Michael Feingold was chairman of the Obie Awards Committee, which selected the winners. His fellow judges included Kirsten Childs, Ain Gordon, Adam Rapp, Anne Dennin, Jeremy McCarter, Alexis Soloski.

  • The cast of Adam Bock's <i>The Thugs</i>
    The cast of Adam Bock's The Thugs Photo by Monique Carboni
    Today’s Most Popular News: