Chicago-Area My One and Only To Star Tony Nominees Felicia P. Fields and Ted Levy, Plus Andrew Lupp and Summer Naomi Smart

News   Chicago-Area My One and Only To Star Tony Nominees Felicia P. Fields and Ted Levy, Plus Andrew Lupp and Summer Naomi Smart
Marriott Theatre's revival of My One and Only, the 1983 Broadway musical comedy about an aviator and a lady endurance swimmer, will feature The Color Purple Tony Award nominee Felicia P. Fields as the Rev. Montgomery, a role created by Roscoe Lee Browne, with Emmy Award winner and Tony nominee Ted L. Levy (Jelly's Last Jam) as Mr. Magix.

Felicia Fields
Felicia Fields Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Performances begin Nov. 7 at Marriott Theatre in Lincolnshire, IL. Opening night is Nov. 14. The run continues to Dec. 31.

My One and Only, which won Tommy Tune 1983 Tony Awards in the categories of Best Actor and Best Choreography (shared with Thommie Walsh), will be directed and choreographed at the Marriott by Jeff Award winner Tammy Mader.

The show — which also earned tapper Charles "Honi" Coles a 1983 Tony as Best Featured Actor, for playing Mr. Magix — borrowed hits from the catalog of Ira Gershwin and George Gershwin, folding them into a new libretto by Peter Stone and Timothy S. Mayer. Here's how Marriott bills the confection: "My One and Only is the Jazz Age story of Captain Billy Buck Chandler, a barnstorming aviator, and Edythe Herbert, an ex-English Channel swimmer and the star of Prince Nicolai's International Aquacade. Through a series of adventures and misadventures, their romantic pursuit is thrown off course, but together they are able to navigate their way to a happy ending."

The "tap spectacular" includes the classic songs "'S Wonderful," "Funny Face," "Strike Up the Band," "He Loves and She Loves" and "Kickin' The Clouds Away."

The company also includes Jeff Award winners Andrew Lupp as Billy and Summer Naomi Smart as Edythe, plus Jeff Award winners Roger Mueller as Nikki and Paula Scrofano as Mickey and ensemble members Quinn M. Bass, Jaclyn Burch, Jameson Cooper, Dina DiCostanzo, Zachary L. Gray, Amanda Kroiss, Alex McCrary, Jarran Muse, Matt Raftery, Clinton Roane, Stephen Schellhardt, Steven Spanopoulos, Tiffany Topol and Melissa Zaremba. The production team includes music director Michael Mahler, lighting designer Jesse Klug, scenic designer Thomas M. Ryan, costume designer Nancy Missimi, sound designer Robert E. Gilmartin and properties designer Sally Weiss. Patti Garwood conducts the Marriott Theatre Orchestra.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: