Cleveland Orchestra Announces Five Retirements

Classic Arts News   Cleveland Orchestra Announces Five Retirements
Five longtime members of the Cleveland Orchestra, including three who were appointed by legendary music director George Szell, will retire this year, the orchestra announced.

Flutist Martha Aarons, a member of the orchestra since 1981, will retire at the end of the current Severance Hall season. Previously the principal flutist of the North Carolina Symphony, she was appointed to the Cleveland Orchestra by former music director Lorin Maazel. She is also principal flutist of the Aspen Music Festival Chamber Symphony and the Iris Chamber Orchestra.

Percussionist Joseph Adato joined the Cleveland Orchestra in 1962, during Szell's long tenure. He had previously played with the New York Philharmonic and the New York City Ballet Orchestra, among other groups. Adato will step down in August.

Violinist Alvaro deGranda was also appointed by Szell, in 1966, and later promoted by him to assistant concertmaster; deGranda held that position for 31 years. A native of Cuba who studied at the Curtis Institute, deGranda played with the Houston Symphony and the St. Louis Symphony before coming to Cleveland. He retires in July.

Violist Yarden Faden's tenure dates to 1966; before he was hired by Szell, he was a member of the Pittsburgh Symphony and the Atlanta Symphony, where he was assistant principal. Faden will retire in September after the orchestra's tour of European festivals.

Cellist Catharina Meints will retire at the end of the Severance Hall season. A former member of the National Symphony Orchestra, she joined the Cleveland Orchestra in 1971, between the tenures of Szell and Maazel. With her husband, oboist James Caldwell, who died in February, she founded the Baroque Performance Institute at Oberlin Conservatory.

Recommended Reading: