Clubbed Thumb Announces Early-Career Directing Fellows | Playbill

News Clubbed Thumb Announces Early-Career Directing Fellows The Obie-winning Off-Broadway company launches the second year of its directing fellowship.
Clubbed Thumb HR

Five-time Obie-winning theatre company Clubbed Thumb has announced its second group of early-career directing fellows: Caitlin Ryan O’Connell, Christina Roussos and LA Williams. The second year of the fellowship will be under the leadership of Anne Kauffman (Marjorie Prime) and Ken Rus Schmoll (Iowa), both Clubbed Thumb affiliated artists.

Anne Kauffman
Anne Kauffman

Following the success of the fellowship’s inaugural year, the program kicks off this month and will culminate in January 2017 with public presentations of the fellows’ work. Over the course of the fall, the early-career directors will work on new plays by Clubbed Thumb alumni playwrights, along with Playwrights Horizons Theater School student and alumni actors. In January, the directors will transition to directing professional actors in the same plays.

O’Connell will direct Olivia Dufault‘s The Messenger; Roussos will direct Jen Silverman‘s Hippos Of The Eastern Enclosure; and Williams will direct Sarah DeLappe‘s Richard In 49 Poses.

Five public performances will take place for industry professionals from January 20-23, 2017, at 440 Lafayette Street. The initiative is run in partnership with Playwrights Horizons Theater School, where Clubbed Thumb is in residence.

For more information about Clubbed Thumb, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!