Daryl Roth Will Be Given Lortel Award for Lifetime Achievement; Awards Are May 2

News   Daryl Roth Will Be Given Lortel Award for Lifetime Achievement; Awards Are May 2
The Lucille Lortel Awards Administration Committee and the Lucille Lortel Foundation announced on Jan. 12 that the recipient of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award will be producer Daryl Roth.
Daryl Roth
Daryl Roth

This honor "is conferred to a theatre professional known for dedication to Off-Broadway." Roth will join the recipients in the 18 other Lortel Award categories for the 25th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, celebrating excellence Off-Broadway, 8 PM May 2 at Terminal 5 in New York City.

Producer Roth began working Off-Broadway in October 1988 with her production of Closer Than Ever at the Cherry Lane Theatre, and has since produced 23 Off-Broadway productions. She is currently represented Off-Broadway with Love, Loss, and What I Wore at the Westside Theatre, written by Nora Ephron and Delia Ephron, and the upcoming production of The Temperamentals, scheduled to open Feb. 28 at New World Stages. She is also the artistic director of both the Daryl Roth Theatre and the DR2 Theatre in Union Square.

Her producing resume includes six Pulitzer Prize winning plays: August: Osage County by Tracy Letts (2008 Tony Award); Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz (2004 Tony Award nomination); Proof by David Auburn (2001 Tony Award & Lortel Award); Wit by Margaret Edson (1999 Lortel Award); How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel (1997 Lortel Award); and Three Tall Women by Edward Albee (1994 Lortel Award). Her production Off-Broadway of Camping with Henry and Tom garnered a Lortel Award in 1995. She also received Lortel nominations for her plays Our Lady of 121st Street (2003) and The Play About the Baby (2001).

George Forbes, president of the Off-Broadway League and the executive director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation, said in a statement, "Daryl is known for her commitment to theatre, and Off-Broadway in particular. In a challenging economic environment, she has brought two shows Off-Broadway this season and the Daryl Roth Theatre and DR2 spaces currently house Fuerza Bruta: Look Up and Dear Edwina. She is an integral part of the Off-Broadway community and we look forward to seeing her continue to add to her stunning array of work."

Roth joins a select group of Off-Broadway luminaries including Lifetime Achievement Award winners Kevin Kline (2007), Wendy Wasserstein (2006), Stephen Sondheim (2003), Edward Albee (2002), Kitty Carlisle Hart (2001), Jason Robards (2000), Harold Pinter (1999), Arthur Miller (1998), Jane Alexander (1997), Gene Feist (1996), Uta Hagen (1995), Wynn Handman (1993), Ellen Stewart (1992), Rosetta LeNoire (1991) and Paul Libin (1988). Roth serves on many boards, including Lincoln Center Theater, the Sundance Institute and the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.


The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League. The Lortel Awards recognize excellence Off-Broadway by honoring the invaluable contribution of artists to the theatre community.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals serve on the Voting Committee.

The awards are given in the following categories: Play, Musical, Solo Show, Revival, Alternative Theatrical Experience, Director, Choreographer, Lead Actor and Actress, Featured Actor and Actress, Scenic, Costume, Lighting and Sound Design. The following honorary awards may also be given: Lifetime Achievement, Body of Work (awarded to an institution), the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence and induction onto the Playwrights'’ Sidewalk in front of the historic Lucille Lortel Theatre in New York City.

For more information and updates, visit www.LortelAward.com.


Lucille Lortel Foundation was created by Lucille Lortel to foster excellence and diversity in the theatre, as well as to faithfully preserve the rich history and support the continued prosperity of Off-Broadway. The Foundation has several major programs, including its general operating support program that has provided millions of dollars to small to mid-size theatres in New York City, universities, and theatre service organizations. The Foundation created and maintains the Internet Off-Broadway Data Base (www.lOBDB.com). For a listing of all of the Foundation's programs, previous Lortel Award nominees and recipients, information on the Lucille Lortel Theatre and Playwrights' Sidewalk, and much more, please visit www.lortel.org.


The Off-Broadway League is a trade organization dedicated to fostering increased awareness and interest in Off-Broadway theatre and supporting the creation of new theatrical productions. Known for presenting the Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, other major programs include Free Night of Theatre, Live Theatre Week, On the House in conjunction with NYC & Company, and other industry-wide marketing initiatives.

For more information, go to OffBroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: