Dietz's Sherlock Holmes Wins 2007 Edgar Award for Best Mystery Play

News   Dietz's Sherlock Holmes Wins 2007 Edgar Award for Best Mystery Play
Steven Dietz's Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure, a popular new title in regional theatres, won the 2007 Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Play.

The Edgar Awards honor the best mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film published or produced in 2006. The Dietz play, inspired by characters created by Arthur Conan Doyle, beat out nominees Curtains (the musical by John Kander, Fred Ebb, Peter Stone and Rupert Holmes) and Ghosts of Ocean House by Michael Kimball (produced by The Players' Ring in Portsmouth, NH).

Winners were announced at the Edgar Week convention in Manhattan April 23-27.

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure was commissioned — and the world premiere was originally produced — by Arizona Theatre Company in spring 2006. It was directed by artistic director David Ira Goldstein. The production was co-produced with The Pasadena Playhouse, where it played last May-June 2006.

The mystery thriller is adapted from William Gillette's smash play Sherlock Holmes, as well as two stories by Arthur Conan Doyle ("A Scandal in Bohemia" and "The Final Problem"). It has also been seen at Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Milwaukee Repertory Theatre, Actors Theatre of Louisville and Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park.

Other Steven Dietz plays to receive their world premieres at ATC are Inventing Van Gogh, Over the Moon, Rocket Man, Private Eyes and Dracula. For more information about the Edgar Awards, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: