Directors of "Raisin in the Sun" and "Tony Awards" Nominated for DGA Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
News Directors of "Raisin in the Sun" and "Tony Awards" Nominated for DGA Awards The Directors Guild of America has announced nominations for directorial achievement in television for 2008.
Kenny Leon
Kenny Leon Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Among the nominees are Kenny Leon, who received an Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television/Miniseries nomination for the TV version of A Raisin in the Sun; and Glenn Weiss, who received a nomination in the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Musical Variety category for "The 62nd Annual Tony Awards." Leon's competitors include Bob Balaban ("Bernard and Doris"), Tom Hooper ("John Adams"), Jay Roach ("Recount") and Mikael Salomon ("The Andromeda Strain"). Weiss will compete in a field that also includes Brent "Bucky" Gunts ("Opening Ceremony Beijing 2008 Olympic Summer Games"), Louis J. Horvitz ("The 80th Annual Academy Awards"), Don Roy King ("Saturday Night Live") and Chuck O'Neil ("The Daily Show with Jon Stewart").

The winners will be announced Jan. 31 at the 61st Annual DGA Awards Dinner, which will be held at the Hyatt Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles, CA.

For more information and for a complete list of nominations, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!