Donna Murphy and Brian D'Arcy James to Announce Nominees for Drama Desk Awards April 27

News   Donna Murphy and Brian D'Arcy James to Announce Nominees for Drama Desk Awards April 27
Tony winner Donna Murphy, who will be seen in the Public Theater's summer staging of Into the Woods, and "Smash" star Brian d'Arcy James will announce the nominations for the 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards April 27 at 9:30 AM at Feinstein's at Loews Regency.

Brian d'Arcy James
Brian d'Arcy James

Other speakers will include Randie Levine-Miller, Director of Special Events for the Drama Desk; Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President; and Barbara Siegel, Chairperson of the Nominating Committee.  

The nominations will be streamed live via will post the nominations following the announcement.

The Drama Desk nominees will receive their Nomination Certificates at a gala cocktail reception May 8 at Oceana.

The 2011-2012 Board of Directors of the Drama Desk is composed of Isa Goldberg, President; Leslie (Hoban) Blake, Vice President; Charles Wright, Treasurer & 2nd Vice President; Richard Ridge, Secretary; Arlene Epstein; Elysa Gardner; Randy Gener; John Istel; David Kaufman; William Wolf and Lauren Yarger.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 "to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York," according to press notes. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics organization to honor achievement in the theatre with competition among Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place June 3 at 8 PM at The Town Hall in Manhattan.

Today’s Most Popular News: