Drama League to Honor John, Laurents, Lansbury and Blodgett

News   Drama League to Honor John, Laurents, Lansbury and Blodgett
Recipients of the Drama League's 2009 Special Recognitions — which will be presented at the 75th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon May 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel — have been announced.
Angela Lansbury
Angela Lansbury Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The 2009 recipients include Elton John (Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award; presented by Stephen Daldry), Arthur Laurents (The Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing), Angela Lansbury (The Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award; presented by Harold Prince) and producer Herb Blodgett (The 75th Anniversary Leadership Award; presented by Irv Welzer). As previously announced, Tony Award winners Jeremy Irons, now on Broadway in Impressionism, and Cynthia Nixon, currently Off-Broadway in Distracted, will co-host the 75th Annual Drama League Awards.

The Drama League Awards, according to press notes, pay "tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais. The 75th Annual Drama League Awards dais will feature approximately 60-70 stars from the 2008-09 Broadway and Off-Broadway season."

The Drama League also presents four other annual awards: Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play and Distinguished Revival of a Musical.

Bobby Cannavale, Cheyenne Jackson and Rosie Perez will announce the nominations for the 75th Annual Drama League Awards April 21 at 10:30 AM ET at Sardi's Restaurant.

Tickets for the ceremony are now available by calling (212) 244-9494, ext. 5. Visit www.DramaLeague.org for more information.


Founded in 1916, the Drama League is an association of theatre professionals and patrons dedicated to "encouraging the finest in professional theatre and has since then developed into the theatre’s premiere service organization."

Today’s Most Popular News: