Esparza, Jackson, Blickenstaff and Miranda to Perform at NYMF "Best of the Fest" Awards

News   Esparza, Jackson, Blickenstaff and Miranda to Perform at NYMF "Best of the Fest" Awards
Tony nominee Raúl Esparza will perform at the New York Musical Theatre Festival's fifth annual "Best of the Fest" Awards on Nov. 2.

In addition to honoring the 2008 NYMF productions, the gala evening will pay tribute to producer Robyn Goodman, who has produced Avenue Q, In the Heights, Metamorphoses, A Class Act, Steel Magnolias, Barefoot in the Park, High Fidelity, Bat Boy, tick, tick…BOOM!, Our Lady of 121st Street, Red Light Winter and Altar Boyz.

Esparza (Speed-the-Plow, Company) joins a line-up of performers including original NYMF Altar Boyz Ryan Duncan, Cheyenne Jackson, David Josefsberg, Andy Karl and Tyler Maynard; Gary Adler (Altar Boyz, Avenue Q), Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Avenue Q), Robert Lopez (Avenue Q), Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Finding Nemo: The Musical), Lin-Manuel Miranda (In The Heights), the cast of [title of show] and the companies of the award-winning NYMF productions.

Among the 2008 "Best of the Fest" award-winning musicals are Megan Gogerty's Love Jerry, Buddy Sheffield and Keith Thompson's bawdy Idaho!, Hunter Foster and Rick Crom's bloody tuner Bonnie & Clyde, Play It Cool, Bedbugs!!!, College, Ward 9 and The Jerusalem Syndrome.

Tony Award-winning producer Kevin McCollum (Avenue Q, In The Heights) serves as the master of ceremonies for the evening, which will begin with cocktails and a silent auction at 6 PM, to be followed by dinner at 7 PM and the awards presentation and performances at 8:30 PM. An after-party at Trattoria Dopo Teatro will follow at 10 PM.

Tickets, ranging $125-$5,000 (table reservations), are available by phoning (212) 664-0979 ext. 13, or by e-mailing For further information visit NYMF.

Today’s Most Popular News: