Exclusive: Hear “Go” from Freaky Friday and Watch the New Album Trailer

Regional News   Exclusive: Hear “Go” from Freaky Friday and Watch the New Album Trailer
Ahead of the album’s official release, Playbill.com readers can now listen to the track “Go” from the musical comedy.

Ahead of Freaky Friday’s studio cast album release, Disney Theatricals has given Playbill.com users an exclusive listen to the song “Go” from the new musical comedy, as well as the album trailer. The album, which was recorded last year by several of the stars from the world-premiere production, will be available digitally February 10, with physical CDs in stores March 17.

Songwriter Brian Yorkey says that the song “Go,” which is performed in Act Two, is about taking risks to uncover your full potential. “You have to go too far before you can discover who you are and discover what you actually can do,” comments Yorkey. “You have to take a step further than you’re comfortable taking and that’s where the song came from.”

Listen to the exclusive track below:

Developed by Disney Theatrical Productions, Freaky Friday features a book by Bridget Carpenter (Friday Night Lights, Parenthood) and music and lyrics by the Tony Award- and Pulitzer Prize-winning team of Tom Kitt and Yorkey (Next to Normal, If/Then). The show debuted at the Signature Theatre in Virginia last fall, starring Heidi Blickenstaff and Emma Hunton as the mother and daughter who swap bodies for a day.

Blickenstaff and Hunton are currently reprising their roles in San Diego in the La Jolla Playhouse production of Freaky Friday, helmed by Playhouse artistic director Christopher Ashley, who also directed the world premiere. The West Coast staging officially opened February 3 and is scheduled to run through March 12 in the Mandell Weiss Theatre.


Below is the complete track listing:

1. “Prologue” – Ellie & Katherine
2. “Just One Day” – Ellie, Katherine & Company
3. “The Hourglass” – Ellie & Katherine
4. “I Got This” – Katherine, Ellie, Adam, Savannah, Teachers & Students
5. “What You Got” – Katherine, Torrey, Journalist & Photographer
6. “Oh, Biology” – Ellie, Adam & Students
7. “Vows” – Mike
8. “Busted” – Ellie, Katherine, Parents & Students
9. “Somebody Has Got to Take the Blame” – Katherine, Ellie, Dr. Ehrin, Señor O’Brien, Mrs. Luckenbill
10. “Watch Your Back” – Ms. Meyers, Ellie & Students
11. “Parents Lie” – Katherine
12. “Just One Day” (Reprise) – Company
13. “Not Myself Today” – Katherine, Ellie, Torrey & Company
14. “Women and Sandwiches” – Adam & Fletcher
15. “Bring My Baby (Brother) Home” – Ellie, Katherine, Adam, Fletcher, Mike & Officers
16. “Go” – Adam & Company
17. “After All of This and Everything” – Katherine
18. “No More Fear” – Ellie
19. “The Other Hourglass” – Ellie & Katherine
20. “Today and Ev’ry Day” – Katherine, Ellie & Company

The album can be pre-ordered on Amazon.com by clicking here.

For tickets and more information to the current production of Freaky Friday visit LaJollaPlayhouse.org.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Popular Features This Week