Four New Cast Albums Released Today

News   Four New Cast Albums Released Today
The bounty includes Seth Rudetsky's starry Broadway Disaster!
Disaster! CD cover

September 9 is a red-letter day for cast-album collectors. Four new original cast albums are released today, including the Broadway CD for Seth Rudetsky's Disaster! and the recent Off-Broadway production of The Robber Bridegroom.

Disaster! (Broadway Original Cast Album)
• Label: Broadway Records
• Writers: Score by various 1970s pop groups
• Performers: Seth Rudetsky, Adam Pascal, Jennifer Simard, Faith Prince, Kevin Chamberlin and the original cast.
• Rudetsky and Jack Plotnick's musical comedy that parodies 1970s disaster movies like The Poseidon Adventure and Earthquake, with a score of period pop hits.

The Robber Bridegroom (Off-Broadway Revival Cast Album)
• Label: Ghostlight Records
• Writers: book & lyrics by Alfred Uhry, music by Robert Waldman.
• Performers: Andrew Durand, Evan Harrington, Greg Hildreth, Leslie Kritzer, Ahna O’Reilly, Steven Pasquale, Nadia Quinn, Lance Roberts and Devere Rogers
• Revival of the 1975 musical, based on the 1942 novella by Eudora Welty of the same title, about a “Southern-fried Robin Hood.”

Girls, Girls, Girls (Off-Broadway Original Cast Album)
• Label: Broadway Records
• Writers: various
• Performer: Norbert Leo Butz
• Live recording of two-time Tony winner Butz’s nightclub show in which he sings pop and Broadway songs about women.

Magic To Do (Cruise Ship Cast Album)
• Label: DMI Soundtracks
• Writers: Stephen Schwartz
• Performers: Stephanie Hodgdon, Danny McHugh, Michael Misko, Kurt Robbins, Courtney Stokes
• Revue of songs by the composer of Wicked, Godspell, Pippin and other shows.

Here is a mini documentary on the making of the Disaster! cast album.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: