Gemignani, Sher and Stewart Receive Drama League Awards

News   Gemignani, Sher and Stewart Receive Drama League Awards
Paul Gemignani, Barlett Sher and Ellen Stewart will be honored by the Drama League with Specialty Awards on May 16.
Bartlett Sher
Bartlett Sher Photo by Team Photogenic

Renowned Broadway conductor, musical director and frequent Sondheim collaborator Paul Gemignani (Follies, Pacific Overtures, Passion, Evita, Dreamgirls) is to receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, while Tony nominee Bartlett Sher (Light in the Piazza, Awake and Sing!, South Pacific) will receive the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing. LaMaMa e.t.c. founder Ellen Stewart will be feted with the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award. Also presented during the luncheon will be the Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play and Distinguished Revival of a Musical awards. Nominations will be announced April 22.

As previously announced, Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein will host the 74th Annual Drama League Awards, co-chaired by Bobby Cannavale (Mauritius), Laurence Fishburne (Thurgood), Peter Gallagher (The Country Girl), Cheyenne Jackson (Xanadu), Laura Linney (Les Liaisons Dangereuses) S. Epatha Merkerson (Come Back, Little Sheba), Rosie Perez (The Ritz), Martha Plimpton (Cymbeline) and Patrick Stewart (Macbeth).

Tickets for the 74th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony are now available by calling (212) 244-9494 ext. 5 or by visiting


Founded in 1916, the Drama League is an association of theatre professionals and patrons dedicated to "encouraging the finest in professional theatre and has since then developed into the theatre’s premiere service organization."

Today’s Most Popular News: