George C. Wolfe to Receive O’Neill’s Monte Cristo Award

News   George C. Wolfe to Receive O’Neill’s Monte Cristo Award
Tony Award-winning director George C. Wolfe will receive the 16th Monte Cristo Award.
George C. Wolfe
George C. Wolfe Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center annually bestows the honor on an artist “whose lifetime work has had an extraordinary impact on American theatre.” The accomplished writer-director is currently at the helm of the anticipated Broadway revival of Shuffle Along, Or, The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed.

Wolfe will be presented with the honor during a May 9 gala dinner at The Edison Ballroom. The evening’s programming will be hosted by O’Neill executive director Preston Whiteway.

“George stands alone as a director, author, and actor in his impressive and wide-ranging career, covering both stage and screen,” Whiteway said in a statement. “With his range and breadth in the theatre, he is a very deserving Monte Cristo Award recipient. It is an honor to celebrate his artistry, unique talents, and his enormous impact on our field.”

Wolfe is the Tony Award-winning director of Bring In ‘Da Noise, Bring In ‘Da Funk and Angels in America: Millennium Approaches. His work also includes Caroline, or Change; The Normal Heart; Jelly’s Last Jam; Angels in America: Perestroika; The Wild Party; Topdog/Underdog; The Normal Heart; The Colored Museum; and Lucky Guy.

Previous Monte Cristo recipients include Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, Nathan Lane, Christopher Plummer, James Earl Jones, Kevin Spacey, Jason Robards, Jr., Zoe Caldwell, Brian Dennehy, and Karl Malden; playwrights August Wilson, Wendy Wasserstein, Edward Albee, and Neil Simon; director Harold Prince; and Arthur & Barbara Gelb.

Tickets are available at

Today’s Most Popular News: