GLAAD Media Awards Presented in NYC March 16

News   GLAAD Media Awards Presented in NYC March 16
The 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, which "celebrate outstanding representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and our allies on TV, in film, and in the news," are presented in NYC March 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

Anderson Cooper
Anderson Cooper Photo by Krissie Fullerton

Sam Champion, Josh Elliott and Lara Spencer are the hosts of the ceremony, which begins at 5:30 PM. Anderson Cooper will be presented with the Vito Russo Award; singer-actress Madonna is the featured guest.

Separate award ceremonies will be held in Los Angeles on April 20 and San Francisco on May 11.

In a previous statement GLAAD president Herndon Graddick said, "Images and stories from the LGBT community continue to push support for equality to historic levels…This year's nominees enlighten and entertain, but also reflect a new American landscape where a growing majority accept and value their LGBT family, colleagues and friends. Now more than ever, viewers not only accept gay and transgender characters and plot lines, they expect them — just as they both accept and expect LGBT people to be a valuable part of their everyday lives."

Nominees in the theatre categories follow:

Outstanding Los Angeles Theater
Edith Can Shoot Shoot Things and Hit Them by A. Rey Pamatmat
Pieces by Chris Phillips
Silent by Pat Kinevane
The Children by Michael Elyanow
The Irish Curse by Martin Casella Outstanding New York Theater: Broadway and Off-Broadway
Bring It On: The Musical book by Jeff Whitty, music and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Tom Kitt and Amanda Green
Cock by Mike Bartlett
The Columnist by David Auburn
The Whale by Samuel D. Hunter
Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike by Christopher Durang

Outstanding New York Theater: Off-Off Broadway
A Map of Virtue by Erin Courtney
Baby Daddy by Alec Mapa
From White Plains written by Michael Perlman in collaboration with Fault Line Theatre
Sontag: Reborn adapted by Moe Angelos, based on the book by Susan Sontag
Tail! Spin! created by Mario Correa

For a complete list of nominees, click here.

Today’s Most Popular News: