Hailey Kilgore, Caissie Levy, More Set for 2018 NAMT Theatre Festival | Playbill

Readings and Workshops Hailey Kilgore, Caissie Levy, More Set for 2018 NAMT Theatre Festival Eight new musicals will be presented at the 30th annual festival at New World Stages.
Hailey Kilgore and Caissie Levy

The National Alliance for Musical Theatre's 30th annual Festival of New Musicals will feature a host of stage favorites in eight new shows, presented October 25–26.

Will Roland Marc J. Franklin

The industry event showcases 45-minute concert adaptations of new musicals in the stages of development for producers and artists, helping them to find future life and development at theatres across the U.S. and internationally. Among those taking the stage this year are Tony nominee Hailey Kilgore (Once On This Island), Caissie Levy (Frozen), Will Roland (Be More Chill), Tony winner Marissa Jaret Winokur, and Tony nominee Will Swenson (Waitress).


Take a look at the initial casting below:

17 Again
Featuring a book by Marco Pennette and music and lyrics by Alan Zachary and Michael Weiner
Director: Gary Griffin
Music Director: Ben Cohn
The cast includes Mallory Elizabeth Bechtel, Janet Krupin, Caissie Levy, Will Roland, Colton Ryan, Will Swenson, Josh Tower, and Marissa Jaret Winokur

A.D. 16
Featuring a book by Bekah Brunstetter and music and lyrics by Cinco Paul
Director: Stephen Brackett
Musical Director: Julie McBride
The cast includes Ben Fankhauser, Greg Hildreth, Hailey Kilgore, Bonnie Milligan, and Graham Stevens

Gun & Powder
Featuring a book and lyrics by Angelica Chéri and music by Ross Baum
Director: Warren Adams
Musical Director: Steven Jamail
The cast includes Colin Anderson, Allison Blackwell, Rebecca Covington Webber, Liisi LaFontaine, Solea Pfeiffer, Emily Rogers, Ryan Shaw, Donald Webber Jr., and Tony Yazbeck

Jeremy Kushnier Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Featuring a book, music, and lyrics by Rob Rokicki
Director: Jenn Thompson
Musical Director: Emily Marshall
The cast includes Sam Cieri, J. Quinton Johnson, Euan Morton, Julia Murney, and Luca Padovan

The River Is Me
Featuring a book and lyrics by Sukari Jones and music by Troy Anthony
Director: Schele Williams
The cast includes Jeremy Kushnier

Featuring a book by Daniel Goldstein and music and lyrics by Dawn Landes
Adapted from the book A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure
Director: Anne Kauffman
Musical Director: Wiley Deweese
The cast includes Jeannette Bayardelle, Andrew Durand, Jo Lampert, and Kristen Sieh

Featuring a book, music, and lyrics by Oliver Houser, developed with Hunter Bird
Director: Hunter Bird
Music Director: Jennifer Lin
The cast includes Jacob Morrell, Isabella Russo, and Miiko Toiviainen

No word yet on casting for the eighth title, Rhys Jennings and Darren Clark's The Wicked Husband. Additional casting for the remaining shows will be announced at a later date.

Registration for industry members is free and now open at NAMT.org. The public can additionally receive passes to the Festival through a donation to NAMT. There is also a day-of standby line for the general public for free admission (based on availability).

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!