Hung Jury: Broadway’s Twelve Angry Men Stays, Bumps Passion Play

News   Hung Jury: Broadway’s Twelve Angry Men Stays, Bumps Passion Play
Broadway’s Twelve Angry Men has announced a sixth extension — this time for five more weeks — which will bump the Roundabout Theatre Company's recent late-season addition, Passion Play.

Scott Ellis (1776, She Loves Me) directs the new staging of the classic Reginal Rose jury-room drama which began previews Oct. 1 and opened Oct. 28 at the American Airlines Theatre. The work originally slated for a limitied engagement through Dec. 19 will now run through May 8.

The previously announced revival of Peter Nichols' Passion Play — which would begin April 15 and open on the Tony Award eligibility cutoff for this season, May 4 — will announce new dates shortly. Mark Brokaw was slated to direct.

The Roundabout also recently postponed a staging of Fool For Love to be directed by Ed Harris for the fall, and joined the producing team for the forthcoming Broadway revival of Glengarry Glen Ross. The troupe's 2004-2005 Broadway season has included After The Fall, Twelve Angry Men, Pacific Overtures and the upcoming A Streetcar Named Desire.


Set in a jury room,Twelve Angry Men tells the story of a murder trial in which a youth is alleged to have killed his father. The case seems like an open-and-shut situation as eleven of the unnamed jurors believe the defendant to be guilty. Juror #8, however, is not so certain, stirring up the room and setting off a number of arguments. The anonymous deciding dozen are currently Mark Blum (The Graduate) as Juror #1, Kevin Geer (Side Man) as Juror #2, Robert Foxworth (Candida, "Six Feet Under") as Juror #3, James Rebhorn (Dinner at Eight) as Juror #4, Michael Mastro (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) as Juror #5, Robert Clohessy (Rounding Third, "Oz") as Juror #6, John Pankow (Barbra's Wedding, "Mad About You") as Juror #7, Boyd Gaines (Contact, Cabaret) as Juror #8, Tom Aldredge (Twentieth Century, Into the Woods) as Juror #9, Peter Friedman (Ragtime, The Heidi Chronicles) as Juror #10, Byron Jennings (The Foreigner, Sight Unseen) as Juror #11 and Adam Trese (A View From The Bridge) as Juror #12. Matte Osian plays a guard.

Twelve Angry Men has proven the most popular Roundabout staging at its current home, the American Airlines Theatre, since the company's reopening of the venue in 2000. The Rose drama will have outrun the longest running production in the space by two times: the 2001 revival of Clare Boothe Luce's The Women — starring Kristen Johnston, Cynthia Nixon and Jennifer Tilly played 13 weeks. By April 3, Twelve Angry Men will have played 26 weeks. (The former Selwyn Theatre was home to the long-running Edna Ferber and George S. Kaufman 1927 comedy The Royal Family which played 345 performances.)

Tickets to Twelve Angry Men at the American Airlines Theatre, 227 West 42 Street are available by calling (212) 719-1300. For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: