In the Heights, Spring Awakening, Stuff Happens, Dying City Among Lortel Nominees May 7

News   In the Heights, Spring Awakening, Stuff Happens, Dying City Among Lortel Nominees May 7
Recipients of the 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards, recognizing excellence in Off-Broadway theatre, will be announced May 7 at New World Stages. Tony Award winner Bebe Neuwirth and actor Bobby Cannavale co-host the evening.

Bebe Neuwirth will host the 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards ceremony.
Bebe Neuwirth will host the 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards ceremony. Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The new musicals In the Heights, Gutenberg!, Striking 12 and Spring Awakening, and plays Stuff Happens, Indian Blood, Dying City and The Busy World Is Hushed are among nominees.

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers announced the 22nd annual nominations April 2.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Spring Awakening, the Frank Wedekind-inspired musical by Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater, which started at Atlantic Theater Company's home in 2006 prior to a move to Broadway, leads in nominations, earning six, while The Public Theater's Stuff Happens and Atlantic's The Voysey Inheritance snagged five noms each.

Three of the four revival nominees were produced by Signature Theatre Company — Landscape of the Body, King Hedley II and Two Trains Running. The 2007 Lortel nominees are:

Outstanding Play
The Busy World Is Hushed
Written by Keith Bunin
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Dying City
Written by Christopher Shinn
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater

Indian Blood
Written by A.R. Gurney
Produced by Primary Stages

Stuff Happens
Written by David Hare
Produced by The Public Theater

Outstanding Musical
Gutenberg! The Musical!
Written by Scott Brown and Anthony King
Produced by Trevor Brown, Ron Kastner, Terry Allen Kramer, Joseph Smith, in association with Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre

In the Heights
Book by Quiara Alegría Hudes
Music and Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda
Produced by Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, and Jill Furman

Spring Awakening
Book and Lyrics by Steven Sater
Music by Duncan Sheik
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company, in association with Tom Hulce and Ira Pittelman

Striking 12
Book, Music and Lyrics by Brendan Milburn, Rachel Sheinkin, and Valerie Vigoda
Produced by Nancy Nagel Gibbs and Greg Schaffert, in association with Mark Johannes and Amy Danis

Outstanding Solo Show
¡El Conquistador!
Written by Thaddeus Phillips and Tatiana Mallarino in collaboration with Victor Mallarino
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop
Performed by Thaddeus Phillips

No Child…
Written and Performed by Nilaja Sun
Produced by Scott Morfee, Tom Wirtshafter and Epic Theatre Center

Written by Neil LaBute
Produced by The Public Theater
Performed by Ed Harris

Outstanding Revival
King Hedley II
By August Wilson
Produced by Signature Theatre Company

Landscape of the Body
By John Guare
Produced by Signature Theatre Company

Two Trains Running
By August Wilson
Produced by Signature Theatre Company

The Voysey Inheritance
By Harley Granville-Barker, Adapted by David Mamet
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Outstanding Director
Michael Mayer, Spring Awakening
PJ Paparelli, columbinus
Derrick Sanders, King Hedley II
Daniel Sullivan, Stuff Happens
David Warren, The Voysey Inheritance

Outstanding Choreographer
Hinton Battle, Evil Dead the Musical
Andy Blankenbuehler, In the Heights
Devanand Janki, Henry and Mudge
Bill T. Jones, Spring Awakening

Outstanding Lead Actor
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jack Goes Boating
Russell Hornsby, King Hedley II
Peter Francis James, Stuff Happens
Lee Pace, Guardians
Michael Stuhlbarg, The Voysey Inheritance

Outstanding Lead Actress
Rebecca Brooksher, Dying City
Jill Clayburgh, The Busy World Is Hushed
Patricia Heaton, The Scene
Gloria Reuben, Stuff Happens
Laila Robins, Sore Throats

Outstanding Featured Actor
Arthur French, Two Trains Running
David Greenspan, Some Men
Ron Cephas Jones, Two Trains Running
Robert Sella, Stuff Happens
Harris Yulin, Frank's Home

Outstanding Featured Actress
Anna Camp, The Scene
Mamie Gummer, The Water's Edge
Nina Hellman, The Internationalist
Michele Ragusa, Adrift in Macao
Sherie Rene Scott, Landscape of the Body

Outstanding Scenic Design
David Korins, Jack Goes Boating
Eugene Lee, The Hairy Ape
Anna Louizos, In the Heights
Derek McLane, The Voysey Inheritance
Allen Moyer, The Busy World is Hushed

Outstanding Costume Design
Gregory Gale, The Milliner
Gregory Gale, The Voysey Inheritance
Susan Hilferty, Spring Awakening
Willa Kim, Adrift in Macao
Valerie Marcus Ramshur, Victoria Martin: Math Team Queen

Outstanding Lighting Design
Kevin Adams, Some Men
Kevin Adams, Spring Awakening
Christopher Akerlind, KAOS
Jeff Croiter, The Internationalist
Japhy Weideman, Jack Goes Boating

Outstanding Sound Design
John Collins, David Herskovits, and Tim Schellenbaum, Faust
Martin Desjardins, columbinus
Robert Kaplowitz, The Internationalist
Brian Ronan, Spring Awakening
Eric Shim, Essential Self-Defense


Kevin Kline will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award, and Special Awards will go to Classical Theatre of Harlem and fight director Rick Sordelet.

Christopher Durang will be honored with a star on the Playwrights' Sidewalk outside the Lortel Theatre on Christopher Street.

Actors' Fund of America will be presented with Special Award in honor of 125 Years of service.

A limited number of tickets, for the ceremony only, will go on sale to the public through the New World Stages box office and at (212) 239-6200, beginning April 3.



The 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards nominating/voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and also includes journalists, educators, and other Off-Broadway theatre professionals.

Today’s Most Popular News: