Josh Gad, Andrew Rannells, Nikki M. James and More Extend Contracts With Book of Mormon Into 2013

News   Josh Gad, Andrew Rannells, Nikki M. James and More Extend Contracts With Book of Mormon Into 2013
The good word will continue to be spread by the original principal cast members of the Broadway production of The Book of Mormon, who have extended their contracts with the hit musical for another year.

Andrew Rannells
Andrew Rannells Photo by Joan Marcus

Tony Award nominees Josh Gad and Andrew Rannells, who star as a mismatched pair of missionaries at the center of the story, will remain with the production along with Tony Award winner Nikki M. James, Tony nominee Rory O'Malley, Michael Potts, Lewis Cleale and Brian Tyree Henry. All seven actors are contracted to appear in the musical through February 2013.

"South Park" writers Trey Stone and Matt Parker and Avenue Q Tony winner Robert Lopez created the Tony-winning musical that began previews Feb 24, 2011, and opened to raves at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre March 24, 2011. It took home Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score and Best Book.

The Book of Mormon also earned Tony Awards for Best Direction (Parker and co-director/choreographer Casey Nicholaw), Best Performance by a Featured Actress (James), Best Orchestrations (Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus), Best Scenic Design (Scott Pask), Best Sound Design (Brian Ronan) and Best Lighting Design (Brian MacDevitt).

James in The Book of Mormon
photo by Joan Marcus

The irreverent musical centers on a pair of Mormon missionaries who venture from Salt Lake City to AIDS-ravaged Uganda in the hopes of converting villagers with the story of Joseph Smith and the founding of the Mormon Church. The problem is: Only one of them has actually read the book.

The cast also features Scott Barnhardt, Justin Bohon, Graham Bowen, Darlesia Cearcy, Kevin Duda, Jared Gertner, Asmeret Ghebremichael, Tyson Jennette, Clark Johnsen, Valisia LeKae, Douglas Lyons, John Eric Parker, Nic Rouleau, Benjamin Schrader, Michael James Scott, Brian Sears, Jason Michael Snow, Nick Spangler, Lawrence Stallings, Rema Webb, Maia Nkenge Wilson and Tommar Wilson. Parker and Stone have earned four Emmy Awards and a Peabody Award for "South Park," which is now in its 15th season. Their films include "South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut" (Academy Award nomination for Best Song) and "Team America: World Police."

Lopez co-created Avenue Q, earning 2004 Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score and a Grammy Award nomination for Best Cast Album. He has also penned Finding Nemo: The Musical with his wife Kristen Anderson-Lopez.

For tickets phone (212) 239-6200 or visit Telecharge. The Eugene O'Neill Theatre is located at 230 West 49th Street.

Today’s Most Popular News: