Karen Akers Will Be Honored at Nightlife Awards; Judy Gold to Host

News   Karen Akers Will Be Honored at Nightlife Awards; Judy Gold to Host
Veteran cabaret singer Karen Akers, who has been seen on Broadway in the original casts of Nine and Grand Hotel, will be honored with the Nightlife Legend Award at the 2009 Nightlife Awards in Manhattan.
Karen Akers
Karen Akers

Comic Judy Gold will host the annual event, which will be held Jan. 26 at Town Hall. Show time is 7 PM.

The awards boast no acceptance speeches, only performances by the evening's winners. Currently scheduled to perform are Nightlife winners Christine Ebersole and Billy Stritch, Marilyn Maye, Mike Birbiglia, Freddy Cole, Helen Baldassare, Allan Harris, Baby Jane Dexter, Brandon Cutrell, The Improvised Shakespeare Company, Daryl Glenn and Jo Lynn Burks. Steven Bernstein's Millennial Territory Orchestra, which was just named Outstanding Jazz Combo, will also perform.

Among the evening's other performers will be Keith Carradine, Jim Caruso, Stephanie J. Block, Larry Gatlin, Euan Morton, Noah Racey and The New York Tap Ensemble.

"This show always comes together late," said Nightlife Awards creator/producer Scott Siegel in a statement. "But it's always at just about this time that the talent list hits critical mass and people start to take notice of the amazing assemblage of gifted people that will be performing on one stage, and for one night only. This year, I think one of the moments people will remember best will be Keith Carradine, who starred in Robert Altman's Nashville and had a hit song, 'I'm Easy,' out of that film, come out and sing that song again on the Town Hall stage. And then see him present the winner for Outstanding Cabaret Duo or Group, an act that recreated the sound track to Nashville live on stage! But that will be just one of a whole night of highlights and surprises."

Tickets, priced $75, $50 and $25, are available by calling (212) 307-4100, online at ticketmaster.com, or by visiting the Town Hall box office (123 West 43rd Street). *

Previously announced Nightlife Award winners set to perform include Marilyn Maye (Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist in a Major Engagement); Christine Ebersole and Billy Stritch (Outstanding Cabaret Duo in a Major Engagement); Baby Jane Dexter (Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist); Helen Baldassare (Outstanding Cabaret Comedy or Characterization); Hank Jones (Outstanding Jazz Soloist); Freddie Cole (Outstanding Jazz Vocalist in a Major Engagement); Allan Harris (Outstanding Jazz Vocalist); comedians Mike Birbiglia (Outstanding Comedian in a Major Engagement) and John Mulaney (Outstanding Comedian); After Party open-mike host Brandon Cutrell (Outstanding Piano Bar Entertainer); as well as selections from "Nashville," featuring Daryl Glenn and Jo Lynn Burks (Outstanding Cabaret Duo or Group); comedy from Improvised Shakespeare and duo Kurt Braunhohler and Kristen Schall, who tied for Outstanding Comic Duo or Group.

Today’s Most Popular News: