Katrina Lenk, Alex Newell, Norm Lewis, More Will Pay Tribute to Andrew Lloyd Webber September 24

Benefits and Galas   Katrina Lenk, Alex Newell, Norm Lewis, More Will Pay Tribute to Andrew Lloyd Webber September 24
The American Theatre Wing’s annual gala honors the award-winning composer, who recently achieved EGOT status.
Andrew Lloyd Webber HR
Andrew Lloyd Webber Gregg Delman

The American Theatre Wing’s gala, honoring newly minted EGOT recipient Andrew Lloyd Webber, is held September 24 at Cipriani 42nd Street (110 East 42nd Street).

Andrew Lloyd Webber and Sierra Boggess
Andrew Lloyd Webber and Sierra Boggess

Those saluting the prolific composer include Tony winner and Emmy nominee Brandon Victor Dixon, Tony winner Katrina Lenk, Tony and Grammy nominee Norm Lewis, Sierra Boggess, Alex Newell (filling in for the previously announced Heather Headley), two-time Andrew Lloyd Webber Initiative recipient Sydney Lopes, and a band that includes School of Rock alums Evie Dolan, Ethan Khusidman, Raghav Mehrotra, and Brandon Niederauer.

The gala is both a celebration of the Wing’s 101 years of supporting strong and fearless voices in the American theatre as well as a tribute to Lloyd Webber’s body of work amassed over five decades.

Pamela Barbey, CeCe Black, Anki Leeds, Evan Shapiro, Marva A. Smalls, and Nadine Wong serve as Gala Chairs.


Past honorees include Cecily Tyson, James Earl Jones, Dame Angela Lansbury, Harold Prince, the Redgrave Family, Sir Howard Stringer, Frank Loesser, Jerry Herman, Carol Channing, Tommy Tune, Matthew Broderick, Nathan Lane, Les Moonves, Isabelle Stevenson, Jerry Bock, Cy Coleman, John Kander, Fred Ebb, Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Marvin Hamlisch, Sheldon Harnick, Stephen Sondheim, Charles Strouse, Graciela Daniele, Kathleen Marshall, Susan Stroman, and Julie Taymor.

In 2016, Lloyd Webber gave the American Theatre Wing a $1.3 million, three-year grant to support theatre education opportunities for diverse and underserved young people and public schools across the U.S. Since then, the Andrew Lloyd Webber Initiative has provided more than $1 million in grants and scholarships for schools wishing to enhance their theatre programs and students wishing to further their theatre training, reaching over 22,000 students nationwide.

The funds raised at the gala will provide support for the Wing’s programs, which champion theatrical excellence at every stage and ensure that the American theatre has a dynamic and diverse future.

The evening includes cocktails, dinner, and performances. For tickets and more information, contact Katie Hayes by calling (212) 765-0606 or emailing gala@thewing.org.

(Updated September 24, 2018)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: