Linda Lavin and Lynn Nottage Named Recipients of Dramatists Guild Fund's Madge Evans and Sidney Kingsley Awards

News   Linda Lavin and Lynn Nottage Named Recipients of Dramatists Guild Fund's Madge Evans and Sidney Kingsley Awards
The Dramatists Guild Fund has announced that this year's Madge Evans and Sidney Kingsley Awards will be presented to actress Linda Lavin and playwright Lynn Nottage.

Linda Lavin
Linda Lavin

Terrence McNally will present the awards Feb. 25 at an intimate salon with award-winning composer Charles Strouse. The event will also include remarks by Jeffrey Lyons, godson of Sidney Kingsley, and will be held at the home of lyricist and playwright Gretchen Cryer.

The Madge Evans-Sidney Kingsley Award is an award given to a playwright and an actress "for their outstanding achievement in the theater. The $15,000 award is given on the basis of each winner’s body of work in the American theater."

Linda Lavin won a Tony Award for her performance in Broadway Bound in 1987, as well as Drama Desk, Outer Critics and Helen Hayes awards. Last season, she was nominated for the Tony Award, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle awards for her performance in The Lyons, going on to receive the Village Voice Obie Award for her portrayal of Rita Lyons in Nicky Silver's comedy. Her previous Tony nominations were for The Last of The Red Hot Lovers, The Diary of Anne Frank, The Tale of The Allergist's Wife and Collected Stories. She is a three-time winner of the Drama Desk Award and two-time Golden Globe winner for her role as Alice on the TV show "Alice."

Lynn Nottage’s new play, By The Way, Meet Vera Stark, enjoyed an extended run Off-Broadway at Second Stage Theatre (Lily Award, Drama Desk nomination). It can be seen this upcoming season at Lyric Stage and The Goodman Theatre. Her Pulitzer Prize-winning play Ruined premiered at Manhattan Theatre Club and Goodman Theatre (OBIE, Lucille Lortel, New York Drama Critics’ Circle, Audelco, Drama Desk, and Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Play). Her other plays include Intimate Apparel (American Theatre Critics and New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards for Best Play); Fabulation, or The Re-Education of Undine (OBIE Award); Crumbs from the Table of Joy; Las Meninas; Mud, River, Stone; Por’knockers and POOF!

Previous Madge Evans-Sidney Kingsley Award actress recipients include Cherry Jones, Frances Sternhagen, Kathleen Chalfant, Marian Seldes, Julie Harris, Uta Hagen, Elizabeth Franz, Judith Ivey, Ruby Dee, Lois Smith, Laura Linney, and Estelle Parsons. Past playwright recipients of the Kingsley Award include Tina Howe, Christopher Durang, Donald Margulies, Romulus Linney, John Guare, August Wilson, Terrence McNally, Edward Albee, Marsha Norman, John Patrick Shanley and David Ives.

Today’s Most Popular News: