London's National Theatre Appoints Six New Board Members

News   London's National Theatre Appoints Six New Board Members

The National Theatre has appointed six new Board members in place of four who have recently retired on completion of two three-year terms.

The new appointments (in alphabetical order) are James Hill, Nicola Horlick, Rachel Lomax, Caragh Merrick, Grahame Morris and Caro Newling.

Sir Christopher Hogg, Cchairman, said: "A year ago the National Theatre Board took over the responsibility of appointing its own members. I warmly welcome the new Board members and am grateful to my departing colleagues for all they have contributed."

James Hill is Chairman of Birds Eye Wall's. In his former role as Chairman of Lever Faberge he was a driving force behind Project Catalyst, a multi-faceted arts engagement program. He has also participated as a mentor in Arts & Business' Mentoring Program. Nicola Horlick joined Société Générale in June 1997 after a career in asset management with Mercury Asset Management and Deutsche Asset Management, and founded SG Asset Management UK. The Company manages a number of different mandates for pension funds based in the UK and overseas an array of unit trusts. She has been a member of the Development Council at the Royal National Theatre for five years.

Rachel Lomax was appointed Permanent Secretary at the Department for Transport in June 2002. Her previous experience includes spells at the World Bank in Washington (USA) in the mid 1990's, and at the Cabinet Office, as Head of the Economic and Domestic Secretariat.

Caragh Merrick is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. She has been a partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers since 1990 and has been the senior audit partner in the firm's Midlands practice since 1996. She is also a non-executive director of Midlands Excellence. She was Chairman of DanceXchange in the Midlands, an Arts Council program to promote dance in the regions, for four years.

Grahame Morris has been Chief Executive of Sheffield Theatres (comprising the Crucible, Lyceum and Crucible Studio) since September 1997. Previously he was General Manager of the Theatre Royal, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and Commissioning Producer at the Theatre Royal, Plymouth. He also chairs the Advisory Panel on Drama for the Arts Council of England.

Caro Newling is Executive Producer of the Donmar Warehouse Theatre where she has worked in partnership with Sam Mendes since its reopening in 1992, mounting over 70 productions. She has also produced several of the Donmar's transfers both to the West End and Broadway, working with a number of commercial partners on both sides of the Atlantic. Prior to the Donmar she worked extensively in the subsidized sector including the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Almeida Theatre and Ballet Rambert.

The continuing Board members, with their initial dates of appointment, are Sir Tom Stoppard 1989, Hon Peter Benson 199, Sir Christopher Hogg 1995, Joan Bakewell OBE 1997, Sue MacGregor OBE 1997, Ben Okri OBE 1999, Professor Lola Young OBE 1999, Edward Walker-Arnott 2000, André Ptaszynski 2001and The Rt Hon Chris Smith 2001.

—By Paul Webb Theatrenow

Today’s Most Popular News: