Lortel Awards Set for May 6; Honorees Announced

News   Lortel Awards Set for May 6; Honorees Announced
The Off-Broadway League announced March 9 that the 27th Annual Lortel Awards, honoring outstanding achievement Off-Broadway, will be held May 6 at 7 PM at NYU Skirball Center.

Honorees were also announced.

Richard Frankel, who, together with his partners Tom Viertel, Steve Baruch, Marc Routh and Laura Green, has produced and managed some 90 productions on and Off-Broadway, in London and around the world, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Award-winning American playwright and avant-garde theatre pioneer Richard Foreman will be honored with his induction onto the Playwrights’ Sidewalk, in front of the historic Lucille Lortel Theatre.

The Service to Off-Broadway Award, which celebrates leaders that serve the Off-Broadway community, will be given to the Fire Department of the City of New York (FDNY). The award will be presented in recognition and gratitude "for all the work the FDNY does to protect the numerous Off-Broadway Theatres and Productions each year, helping keep the staffs, actors and patrons safe," according to press notes.

Nominations for the awards will be announced March 29. Public tickets for the awards are $75 and will be available starting March 30 via phone at (212) 352-3101, online at www.nyuskirball.org and in person at the Skirball Center's Shagan Box Office, at 556 LaGuardia.


Nominees from the 2011-12 season will be feted with a cocktail party in their honor on April 16.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.

Today’s Most Popular News: