Lucille Lortel Awards Set May Date at Skirball Center

News   Lucille Lortel Awards Set May Date at Skirball Center
The 32nd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards will honor William Ivey Long, Lynn Nottage, and Harold Wolpert.
Lynn Nottage
Lynn Nottage Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The 32nd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, celebrating outstanding achievement in Off-Broadway theatre, will take place May 7 at the NYU Skirball Center for Performing Arts. Nominations will be announced April 4.

It was also announced that the Lortel Awards will instate a new category for Outstanding Projection Design. “Off-Broadway theatre continues to be the home for innovative and ground-breaking theatre. The Off-Broadway League is proud to continue to honor the designers that play such a vital role in Off-Broadway's success,” said Off-Broadway League President Adam Hess in a statement.

This year’s Lortel honorees include costume designer William Ivey Long, who will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Lynn Nottage, who will be inducted onto the famed Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre; and theatre executive Harold Wolpert, who will be honored with the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.

Michael Heitzman will return to direct the Lortel Awards for the eighth consecutive year. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: