MAC Awards to Be Presented May 1; Kritzer to Receive Special Award | Playbill

Related Articles
News MAC Awards to Be Presented May 1; Kritzer to Receive Special Award The annual MAC Awards — saluting the best in New York cabarets and clubs — will be presented May 1 at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill.

The 21st Annual MAC (The Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs) Awards will be directed by Phil Geoffrey Bond. Show time is 7:30 PM.

As previously announced, Board of Directors Awards will be presented to Karen Mason and Seth Rudetsky, and Special Lifetime Achievement Awards will be given to Dody Goodman and Jan Wallman. Time Out New York will also present a Special Achievement MAC Award to Leslie Kritzer. Kritzer, who will soon be seen in the new Broadway musical Legally Blonde, is being honored for her much-extended Joe's Pub show, Leslie Kritzer Is Patti LuPone at Les Mouches.

B.B. King Blues Club & Grill is located in Manhattan at 237 West 42nd Street. Tickets, priced $40-$125 (plus a two-drink minimum), are available by calling (212) 307-7171 or by visiting For additional information call (212) 465-2662. (Doors will open at 6:30 PM).


The complete list of 21st Annual MAC Awards nominees follows. Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
Cynthia Crane
Barbara Fasano
Jeanne MacDonald
Sue Matsuki

Male Vocalist
Patrick DeGennaro
Colm Reilly
Anthony Santelmo Jr.
Marcus Simeone

Major Artist – Female
Joanne Beretta
Lina Koutrakos
Maude Maggart

Major Artist – Male
Eric Comstock
Jeff Harnar
Billy Stritch
Ronny Whyte

New York Debut – Female
Esther Beckman
Sophia Bilides
Judy Butterfield
Candice Harper
Micaela Leon
Valerie Kanofsky
Maxine Linehan
Charlotte Philley

New York Debut – Male
Jean Brassard
Rob Langeder
Russ Lorenson

Steven Brinberg (as Barbra Streisand)
Tommy Femia (as Judy Garland)
Jimmy James (as various divas)

Musical Comedy Performer – Female
Lorinda Lisitza
Karen Mack
Kristine Zbornik

Cabaret Comedy / Musical Comedy Performer – Male
Scott Nevins
Jay Rogers
Shawn Ryan

Vocal Duo or Group
Tom Andersen, Scott Coulter, & Tim Di Pasqua
Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano
3 Men & A Baby…Grand

Musical Comedy Duo or Group / Special Production
Bring Back Birdie
Thomas Honeck's Dreaming Wide Awake
The Music of Steve Marzullo
Talk of the Town
A Very Bette Christmas

Her Song
Johnny Mercer Sings—The Songs He Didn't Write
When the Lights Go On Again

Variety Production/Recurring Series
Jamie deRoy & friends
Poole Party!
Trudy Mann's Fabulous Open Mic for Singers

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
David Colbert
Maria Gentile
Eric Pickering

Piano Bar/Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Bobby Peaco
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Ritt Henn
Steven Lutvak
John Wallowitch

Musical Director
Christopher Denny
Tedd Firth
Daryl Kojak
Barry Levitt
Tracy Stark

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Linda Amiel Burns
Lina Koutrakos
Miles Phillips

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Shane Mathews
Jean-Pierre Perreaux

"Beautiful Mistake" — music by John Bucchino, lyrics by Amanda McBroom
"I Am Still" — music by Steven Landau, lyrics by D.C. Anderson
"Since I Lost You" — words and music by Paul Rolnick & Gerry Dieffenbach
"Somewhere in This Song" — words and music by Nicholas Levin
"A Strong Wind" — music by Steven Silverstein, lyrics by Ruth Williamson

Special Musical Material
"Come Back For More" — words and music by Nicholas Levin
"Fat Christmas" — words and music by Kevin Ray
"Marthe of Montmartre" — words and music by Francesca Blumenthal
"Not Another Cabaret" – words and music by Jason Wynn
"What She's Got" — words and music by Ray Jessel

Barbara Fasano — "Written in the Stars"
"It's Only Life" — music and lyrics by John Bucchino
Jamie deRoy & friends — "If I Sing"
Jim Van Slyke — "Open Road"
Shaynee Rainbolt — "At Home"

Jazz Recording
Judy Barnett — "Too Darn Hot"
Mary Foster Conklin — "Blues for Breakfast – Remembering Matt Dennis"
Stevie Holland — "More Than Words Can Say"
Daryl Sherman — "Guess Who's In Town"
Marlene VerPlanck — "Marlene VerPlanck NOW!"

Jazz Vocalist – Female
Mychelle Colleary
Laurie Krauz
Jane Scheckter
Ejaye Tracey
Alysha Umphress

Jazz Vocalist – Male
Scot Albertson
John DeMarco
Frank Fontana
Dane Vanatter

Major Jazz Vocalist
Judy Barnett
Adi Braun
Allan Harris
Hilary Kole
Laurel Massé

Jazz Duo/Group
Bill Charlap Trio
Barry Levitt Quartet
Michele Ramo & Heidi Hepler
Pinky Winters & Richard Rodney Bennett

Stand-Up Comic Female
Ophira Eisenberg
Poppi Kramer
Anne Neczypor
Chelsea Peretti
Darlene Violette

Stand-Up Comic Male
Michael Brill
David Hodorowski
Nick Kroll
Joe Minolfi
John Mulaney

Major Stand-Up Comic – Female
Erin Foley
Julie Goldman
Cory Kahaney
Laurie Kilmartin
Maureen Langan

Major Stand-Up Comic – Male
Ted Alexandro
Ben Bailey
Todd Barry
Mike Birbiglia
Greg Giraldo

Comedy/Improv Duo or Group
Hot Sauce
Oh, Hello
The Next Big Broadway Musical
TJ & Dave

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!