Mayer, Daniele, Sullivan Among SSDC's 2006 Callaway Award Finalists

News   Mayer, Daniele, Sullivan Among SSDC's 2006 Callaway Award Finalists
Winners of the Callaway Awards, celebrating direction and choreography for work Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway, will be announced Nov. 20 by The Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

The 2006 winners of the Joe A. Callaway Awards will be made public at the conclusion of the SSDC Annual Membership Meeting Nov. 20.

Directors Peter DuBois, Michael Mayer, Daniel Sullivan, Wilson Milam and Mark Lamos, and choreographers Bill T . Jones and Graciela Daniele are the finalists. They are being recognized for work seen at not-for-profits including The Public Theater, Lincoln Center Theater, Primary Stages and Atlantic Theater Company.

That meeting begins 7 PM at the Abingdon Theatre Arts Complex, June Havoc Mainstage, 312 W. 36th Street.

Created in 1989, the Callaway Awards were endowed by actor/director/teacher Joe A. Callaway and are presented annually in recognition of excellence in the crafts of directing and choreography in Off and Off-Off-Broadway productions during the New York City theatre season Sept. 1-Aug. 31.

The Callaway Committee (consisting of 13 SSDC director and choreographer members) has chosen the following seven 2006 finalists — five directors and two choreographers — from hundreds of eligible artists. DIRECTORS

  • Peter DuBois, Measure for Pleasure, The Public Theater
  • Mark Lamos, Indian Blood, Primary Stages
  • Michael Mayer, Spring Awakening, Atlantic Theater Company
  • Wilson Milam, The Lieutenant of Inishmore, Atlantic Theater Company
  • Dan Sullivan, Stuff Happens, The Public Theater CHOREOGRAPHERS

  • Graciela Daniele, Bernarda Alba, Lincoln Center Theater at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater
  • Bill T. Jones, Spring Awakening, Atlantic Theater Company Previous Callaway Award winners include Joe Mantello, Graciela Daniele, George C. Wolfe, Susan Stroman, Scott Elliott, Frank Galati, Julie Taymor, Moisés Kaufman, Jack O'Brien, Gabriel Barre, Devanand Janki, Daniel Sullivan, Christopher Gattelli and Doug Hughes.

  • Today’s Most Popular News: