Mean Girls' Kate Rockwell Releases First Solo Album Back to My Roots April 27

Cast Recordings & Albums   Mean Girls' Kate Rockwell Releases First Solo Album Back to My Roots April 27
The new album from Broadway Records features songs from Evita, Falsettos, and more.
Kate Rockwell Marc J. Franklin

Kate Rockwell, who plays Karen Smith in Broadway's Mean Girls musical, has selected songs from the shows that inspired her to pursue a career on Broadway—including Jekyll & Hyde, Evita, and Little Shop of Horrors—for her premiere solo album.

Kate Rockwell: <i>Back to My Roots</i> Album Cover
Kate Rockwell: Back to My Roots Album Cover Broadway Records

Kate Rockwell: Back to My Roots is available both in-stores and digitally April 27, under the Broadway Records label.

Before creating the role of Mean Girls' most intellectually challenged member of The Plastics, Rockwell appeared on Broadway in such shows as Legally Blonde, Hair, Bring It On, and Rock of Ages. Her performance in Mean Girls' Washington D.C. tryout earned Rockwell a Helen Hayes Award nomination.

Mean Girls' original Broadway cast album is set for a digital release May 18, with a physical edition following June 15.


Back to My Roots is executive produced by Yael Silver, with producers Michael Croiter, Jason Loffredo, and Showmance Productions. The cover photography is by Curtis & Cort Photography. See below for the track listing.

1. Hey There Good Times
2. Bring On the Men
3. I Know Things Now You Know
4. Buenos Aires
5. What You Don't Know About Women
6. I'm Breaking Down
7. The Games I Play
8. Song on the Sand
9. Somewhere That's Green
10. Schoenberg Lloyd Webber (or...Two Composers, One Song)
11. Unexpected Song

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: