Megan Hilty's "It Happens All the Time" Album In Stores March 12

News   Megan Hilty's "It Happens All the Time" Album In Stores March 12
"Smash" and Wicked star Megan Hilty's new album, "It Happens All The Time," a collection of songs that will take listeners beyond the realm of theatre, gets released March 12.

Cover art
Cover art

Sony Masterworks' new contemporary adult imprint, Portrait, offers the 10-track album. Hilty made her Carnegie Hall debut on March 8 with the New York Pops. Read the Playbill report.

Hilty was recently seen as Lorelei Lee, the diamond-loving blonde made famous by Carol Channing, in New York City Center’s Encores! run of Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. She also played Doralee Rhodes in Broadway’s 9 to 5: The Musical and made her Broadway debut as Glinda in Wicked. She plays vocally powerful but emotionally vulnerable actress Ivy Lynn on the NBC musical series "Smash."

"I want to show a different side of me because it's the first thing I've ever done that's just me and not attached to any character or story line," the actress said in a statement. "Coming from a musical theatre background, everyone expects that I'd do a Broadway album or pop standards.  'Smash' changed all that. We did a completely different arrangement of 'Crazy Dreams' [on the show], and it resonated with a lot of people."

The album is produced by Grammy-winners Andy Zulla and Jimmy Hogarth. Songwriters represented on the disc include Aimee Mann, Damien Rice, Hogarth, Wayne Hector, Glen Ballard, Luke Laird, Ne-Yo and Carrie Underwood.

The track list follows:

1. It Happens All the Time
2. Be a Man
3. No Cure
4. Walk Away
5. Safe and Sound
6. The Blower’s Daughter
7. Hopin'
8. Wise Up
9. The Heart of the Matter
10. Dare You To Move

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: