MTV's "The Big Ten" Features Spring Awakening Cast May 4

News   MTV's "The Big Ten" Features Spring Awakening Cast May 4
The May 4 broadcast of MTV's "The Big Ten" will feature the cast of the new Broadway musical Spring Awakening.

The company of the acclaimed musical — including Jonathan Groff, Lea Michele and John Gallagher, Jr. — hosted the MTV program at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre, where Spring plays. The program will air 9-10 AM ET.

"The Big Ten," according to press notes, is "a mix of the 10 biggest videos of the moment. Past hosts have included Bow Wow, Wilmer Valderrama, Josh Hartnett, and Jared Leto." It is also described as "MTV's exclusive morning show for people who don't do mornings."

"The Big Ten" airs weekday morning on MTV at 9 AM ET. For more information visit


Spring Awakening features direction by Michael Mayer and choreography by Bill T. Jones. The musical is based on Frank Wedekind's 1891 expressionist play, which was scandalous in its day for addressing sex, violence and suicide. Two actors play all the adult roles, and the others in the ensemble cast play teenagers. Groff and Michele play the lead roles of two teens drawn to each other in a world where parents, ministers and teachers create an atmosphere of shame, silence and ignorance.

The complete Broadway cast comprises Skylar Astin, Gerard Canonico, Lilli Cooper, Jennifer Damiano, Matt Doyle, Christine Estabrook, John Gallagher, Jr., Gideon Glick, Jonathan Groff, Robert Hager, Brian Charles Johnson, Ken Marks, Frances Mercanti-Anthony, Lea Michele, Lauren Pritchard, Krysta Rodriguez, Stephen Spinella, Phoebe Strole, Jonathan B. Wright, and Remy Zaken.

Spring Awakening began previews at Broadway's Eugene O'Neill Theatre on Nov. 16, 2006, and opened Dec. 10, 2006. Its world premiere was Off-Broadway at the Atlantic Theater Company, where it opened June 15, 2006.

The Eugene O'Neill Theatre is located at 230 West 49th Street. For more information on the show visit

Today’s Most Popular News: