NAACP Image Awards, with Rose and Harper as Hosts, Presented Feb. 26

News   NAACP Image Awards, with Rose and Harper as Hosts, Presented Feb. 26
Tony Award-winning actress Anika Noni Rose and "CSI" actor Hill Harper co-host the NAACP Image Awards Feb. 26 in Los Angeles.
Anika Noni Rose
Anika Noni Rose Photo by Andrew Macpherson

In addition to her hosting duties for the ceremony, Rose (Caroline, or Change, "Dreamgirls") is a multiple Image Award nominee. She is up for Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture for "The Princess and the Frog" and Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency." The Image Awards will air at 8 PM ET on Fox.

Scheduled to appear on the broadcast are Mary J. Blige, the cast of "Glee," Nick Cannon, Selena Gomez, Maxwell, Larenz Tate, Cicely Tyson, Gabrielle Union, Sandra Bullock, Gabourey Sidibe, Jamie Foxx, Lenny Kravitz, Regina King, Taraji P. Henson, Myrlie Evers Williams, Adam Rodriguez, Sherri Shepherd, Mo’Nique, Morgan Freeman, Alfre Woodard, Mariah Carey, Mekhi Phifer and Tatyana Ali.

Tyler Perry will receive the Chairman's Award, and Wyclef Jean will receive the Vanguard Award.

Theatre-related nominations include "The Princess and the Frog," for Best Picture; Denzel Washington ("The Taking of Pelham 123"), Idris Elba ("Obsessed"), Jamie Foxx ("Law Abiding Citizen") and Morgan Freeman ("Invictus") are nominated for Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture nominees are Adam Rodriguez ("Tyler Perry's I Can Do Bad All By Myself"), Anthony Mackie ("The Hurt Locker"), Chiwetel Ejiofor ("2012") and Danny Glover ("2012"). Among the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture are Alfre Woodard ("American Violet") and Paula Patton ("Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire").

Spike Lee's documentary of Passing Strange is nominated for Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture, while Chandra Wilson is a nominee for Outstanding Directing in a Dramatic Series for "Grey's Anatomy."

Nominated in the television acting categories are Vanessa Williams ("Ugly Betty"), Donald Faison ("Scrubs"), Dulé Hill ("Psych"), America Ferrera ("Ugly Betty"), Laurence Fishburne ("CSI"), Taye Diggs ("Private Practice"), Hill Harper ("CSI"), Chandra Wilson ("Grey's Anatomy"), Sandra Oh ("Grey's Anatomy"), Corey Reynolds ("The Closer"), Delroy Lindo ("Law & Order"), James Pickens, Jr. ("Grey's Anatomy"), Rocky Carroll ("NCIS"), Audra McDonald ("Private Practice"), S. Epatha Merkerson ("Law and Order"), Cicely Tyson ("Relative Strangers"), Rosie O'Donnell ("America") and Ruby Dee ("America").

For a complete list of nominees visit NAACPImageAwards.

Today’s Most Popular News: