Nathan Award for Criticism Recipients Announced | Playbill

News Nathan Award for Criticism Recipients Announced Chris Jones, long-time theatre critic for the Chicago Tribune, will share the $10,000 2014-15 George Jean Nathan Award for drama criticism with Princeton professor Brian Eugenio Herrera, author of the 2015 book, “Latin Numbers: Playing Latino in Twentieth-Century U.S. Popular Performance.”

Jones reviewed touring shows for Variety before joining the Tribune 14 years ago. He heads the Eugene O'Neill Criticism Institute at the O'Neill Center in Connecticut and teaches criticism at DePaul University.

The prize consists of the annual net income of half of Nathan's estate, which "shall be paid to the American who has written the best piece of drama criticism during the theatrical year (July 1 to June 30), whether it is an article, an essay, treatise or book."

Past winners include Michael Feingold, Charles Isherwood, Randy Gener, John Lahr, Frank Rich, John Simon, Jill Dolan and Walter Kerr. The first winner of the award was Harold Clurman in 1958-59.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!