Nathan Lane, Frank Langella, Vanessa Williams Will Be Part of 2018 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony

Awards   Nathan Lane, Frank Langella, Vanessa Williams Will Be Part of 2018 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony
Cicely Tyson, Christine Baranski, David Henry Hwang, and more will be honored at the Gershwin Theatre.
Nathan Lane Marc J. Franklin

The 48th Annual Theater Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater Induction Ceremony will be held November 12 at the Gershwin Theatre. Three-time Tony nominee and Theater Hall of Fame inductee Dana Ivey will host.

Cicely Tyson ATW Gala 41 HR.jpg
Cicely Tyson Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Presenters will include Nathan Lane, Frank Langella, Vanessa Williams, Estelle Parsons, Mrs. James Houghton, and Lynne Meadow.

The 2018 inductees include the previously announced actors Rene Auberjonais, Christine Baranski, and Cicely Tyson; playwrights María Irene Fornés, David Henry Hwang, and Adrienne Kennedy; director Joe Mantello; and, posthumously, producer James Houghton.

The Theater Hall of Fame was created in 1970 at the Gershwin Theatre by James M. Nederlander and Earl Blackwell. To be eligible for nomination, the theatre professional must have, at least 25 years in the Broadway theatre, five major productions, or be a leader of Off-Broadway or a regional theatre pioneer.

The annual voters are the Theater Hall of Fame members and 250 theatre critics across the United States. Over 40 nominees in ten categories are listed on the ballot each year.

Read: 7 Things You Never Knew About America’s ‘Greatest and Least Known Dramatist’

Last year's honorees included actors Audra McDonald, the late Marin Mazzie, and Matthew Broderick; playwrights Arthur Kopit and Tina Howe; director Oskar Eustis; producer Daryl Roth; and, posthumously, theatre critic Ernie Schier.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces the annual event; attendance is by invitation only. For more information, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: